Day 3: Icebox Cupcakes

These little cuties are a variation of Icebox Cake, a simple but delicious concoction made with chocolate wafer cookies and sweetened whipped cream.  The cookies are stacked with whipped cream between the layers and put into the fridge.  After 5 hours (or overnight), the whipped cream has softened the chocolate cookies to make a cake-like dessert. These are also nice for warm weather when you don’t want to turn on the oven to bake a cake.

Rem and I stretch out our birthday celebrations from a day to a month, if possible.  He birthday falls on the first day of June a.k.a. Day 1 of 30 Days of Creativity! So some of my projects, like this one, are in honor of Rem’s Birthday Month.

I used the classic Famous Chocolate Wafers by Nabisco.  The package has a recipe on the side for Icebox Cake but on their website they call it Chocolate Refrigerator Roll.  One box makes 8 little cupcakes that are each 5 cookies high.

This was only the second time I tried this recipe – the first time I put it in a loaf pan and this time in the cupcake stacks.  One cup of heavy whipping cream should make enough for one box of cookies.  I used a pint and I had leftovers but I don’t consider that a bad thing!

Spread about a tablespoon of sweetened whipped cream (I also added some vanilla when I whipped it up) between a pair of cookies, and press the cookies together.  Add another tablespoon of whipped cream and another cookie until you have a 5-layer stack of cookies.

I used an offset spatula and spread whipped cream on the sides to get an even layer all the way to the edges.  Once you have a stack of five cookies, make sure the cookies are aligned then either spread a final layer of whipped cream on the top of each stack or pipe it on for a fancier finish.

I’m sure it will be just as delicious without the raspberry and mint leaf garnish but I love how these look, especially on my new cake stand!

My project for Day 3 last year: Security Envelope Flower Cards.

Thank you for stopping by.

9 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Cooking

9 responses to “Day 3: Icebox Cupcakes

  1. Those look so great, bet they taste even better.

    • We each had one tonight and found the bottom cookie wasn’t as soft as the others since it only has whipped cream on one side. I realized it hadn’t been quite long enough and I think if they’d been in the refrigerator for another hour or two, or as I suggested, overnight, they would have been better. I’ll see how they are when we have one tomorrow. Thanks for your comment!

  2. Yum. Lay a place for me please…..

    Enjoy

  3. Kathleen Faw

    Dianne made me the ice box loaf cake for my birthday! Yum!! We decided it would also be good made with gingersnaps.

  4. Pingback: Scorecard for 30DoC | dianne faw

  5. Pingback: Day 3: Give Me Wings | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

