Day 4: Double Sponged & Embossed Cards

I’ve got a whole list of different crafts and recipes to try during 30DoC but when my friend Carson posted a link for this Double Sponging Technique, I decided to try it.  Heather Telford at Bits and Pieces created a wonderful tutorial showing this process.

In Heather’s version, she first sponged ink onto card stock then stamped a music background stamp over the paper.  I don’t have a music stamp so I adapted her technique and used actual sheet music!

The vintage sheet music is a bit fragile and I didn’t use the adhesive I usually do when making cards.  Instead, anytime I was adhering sheet music to card stock I used a glue stick.

First I sponged several light colors over a piece of sheet music.

Than I used VersaMark ink to stamp a clear butterfly image on this inked background.  I embossed the butterfly with clear embossing powder and heat set it.

Next I sponged over the whole piece with darker colors of ink.

Finally, I put the butterfly on a mat of colored card stock and used it on a card, along with a greeting and embellishments.

I made two butterfly cards and one bird card using the Double-Sponging Technique.  This is definitely a technique I will use again after 30DoC.  Thanks for sharing the link, Carson!

Last year on Day 4 I made Pizza Bites.

I appreciate your interest and support.

7 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

7 responses to “Day 4: Double Sponged & Embossed Cards

  1. I love it Dianne! I really want to try this one too and seeing what you did with it makes me want to try it like right now! I love the bird on the asian writing, gorgeous!

    • Thank you, thank you! I ordered two different paper ephemera packs on Etsy and the lettering is from a page of what looks like a child’s book. I’d seen the sponging technique before with the embossing but the added bit of music or lettering is what made this one really special. So…you don’t seem to be doing 30 Days of Creativity. Maybe next year.

  2. oolalang

    Hi Dianne! I’m on vacation in Colorado and found a great Scrapbooking store. They had a make and take for about $5 so I finally got someone to show me first hand how to use Distressed Inks! I was just really excited and I thought of you and all the awesome cards you make and how I’ll be able to follow your tutorials more closely now!

    • That’s wonderful, Emily! There’s nothing like taking a class and getting hands on with the materials to understand how to do just about anything. I hope the rest of your vacation is equally successful. Thanks for writing.

  3. Pingback: After 30 Days of Creativity | dianne faw

  4. Pingback: Scorecard for 30DoC | dianne faw

  5. Pingback: Day 4: Running Out Of Time | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

