Day 26: Recycled Page Gift Bow

This colorful bow was crafted from a magazine page. I think it looks perfect with the brown paper bag wrapping paper. I think they would be wonderful made out of maps.

I saw the directions on The  Green Eyed Monster.com and I saw several variations on Pinterest.  Then I found photos on Milomade and decided to make it. I find that pictures go a long way with me!

I used a glossy magazine page.  You could also use the cover.

Cut 13 strips that are each 1/2 inch wide: four that are 10.5 inches long, three that are 9.5 inches long, and three that are 7.5 inches long.  Cut one strip 3/4 inch wide x 3 inches long.

Form a figure eight with each 1/2 inch wide strip of the page.  You can either staple where the two ends join in the center or use a double-sided adhesive, which was my choice.  I put a little bit of adhesive on the ends of the strip than formed the eight and carefully placed the sticky ends in place.

The last piece (the 3/4 inch wide one) should be formed into a circle.

Now start stacking and gluing in place starting with the four largest as a base.  The little circle is the finishing touch.  If you used staples, the circle helps to hide them.

Every time we can reuse or recycle things we would normally throw out it is kind of like a little birthday gift to Mother Earth.

Last year on Day 26 I made Fused Plastic Bag Pouches  and Tote Bags…check it out!

Thank you for stopping by.

10 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

10 responses to “Day 26: Recycled Page Gift Bow

  1. Love this – I always like to dress up gifts and this satisfies the eco-friendly (and cheapskate!)side of me too. :)

    • Thanks! Nice to see you again. Eco-friendly is great and so is saving money! Please send a picture if you make one. I’d love to add readers photos to posts about that project.

  2. That’s wonderful! Prettier than the ones you buy. :)

  3. very pretty, and totally cool idea…love the savings and recycling too.

  4. Pingback: Scorecard for 30DoC | dianne faw

  5. Lia

    Wonderful! Love your recycled project. Thanks for the tutorial.

  6. Pingback: Day 26: Birds in Flight: Blackout Poem & Collage | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

