Baked Falafel Pitas

Late in June while I was neck-deep in the 30 Days of Creativity project I made these Baked Falafel Pitas for dinner.  I found the recipe, posted by ThreeManyCooks, on the Tasty Kitchen website (an offshoot of The Pioneer Woman).  I really love falafel but have never fixed it at home because they’re usually fried and I don’t eat much fried food.  I was happy to see this recipe and really love how it turned out.

I increased the fresh herbs in the recipe and didn’t use as much feta cheese as a topping.  In fact, next time I make them I will probably use regular-size pitas so I have room for more lettuce, tomato and cucumber.  I also decreased the garlic. These have loads of flavor with 2 cloves of garlic, herbs and spices.

Baked Falafel Pitas

4 to 6 servings

2 cans (15 oz. size) garbanzo beans (aka chickpeas)

3 tablespoons flour

1/2 cup finely chopped parsley or any of the following or a combination of all three: parsley, cilantro and mint

2 cloves garlic

2 teaspoons ground cumin

2 teaspoons ground coriander

1 teaspoon chili powder

Toppings:

4 tablespoons tahini

3 tablespoons lemon juice

3 whole tomatoes, diced

3 small cucumbers, diced

4 oz. feta cheese, crumbled

lettuce

avocado (optional)

12 small pitas or 6 regular pitas

Directions:  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine garbanzo beans, flour, parsley (or combination of parsley, cilantro and mint), garlic and spices in a food processor and pulse until well blended.

Form 24 small patties out of the mixture about 1.5 inches wide and an inch thick.

For easy clean-up, cover a baking sheet with parchment paper and spray lightly with nonstick spray.  You can use a baking sheet without the parchment paper, sprayed with nonstick spray.  Place patties on baking sheet and bake for 20 to 22 minutes, turning once half-way through the baking time.  (You don’t really have to turn them but they’ll brown more evenly if you do.)

While falafel patties are baking, mix together tahini and lemon juice and arrange  other toppings on a serving platter.  We used feta, tomato, cucumber, lettuce and some store bought hummus.  Avocado would be  is a nice addition.

Serve warm patties in pita bread with toppings.  The pita at the top of the post is a full-sized whole wheat pita bread.  The one below is a mini-pita.

Writing this out reminds me of how good this was…I’m going to add the ingredients to my grocery list.

UPDATE: We had Baked Falafel Pitas for dinner and went with full-sized whole wheat pitas and added avocado to the toppings.  The larger size pita works well if you like to put a lot of veggies in with your falafel.

Thanks for the visit!

Coming soon: I’ll be giving away some of the items I made during 30 Days of Creativity!

2 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Cooking

2 responses to “Baked Falafel Pitas

  1. violetannie63

    They look yummy. I’m so jealous – I love falafel but can’t eat them regularly any more. I used to make similar ones to these but they had a mixture of chickpeas and broad beans in them.

  2. Bummer! I’m sorry you can’ eat them – is it all beans that you have trouble with?

Leave a Reply

