Baked Kale Chips

Crispy Baked Kale Chips

I think these crispy seasoned Baked Kale Chips are my response to all the Thin Mint cookies I’ve been snarfing down.  As soon as I open one of those sleeves, it is really only a matter of time before I consume all the cookies in it.

I’ve tasted some commercial kale chips before and they were really good. I tried making them myself and had really uneven results.  The mixture to coat the chips was too heavy, the chips were too crowded on the baking sheet so some were soggy and limp. The ones that were crisp were good, but I was disappointed and didn’t want to share the recipe.

After reading a few different recipes (many use a dehydrator, but I don’t have one), I blended two for my hybrid recipe and made a batch of blog-worthy Baked Kale Chips.  They aren’t very beautiful, but they are crisp and tasty.

Kale Chip Ingredients

Baked Kale Chips

Adapted from A Spicy Perspective, and Oh She Glows.

Ingredients

1 large bunch Tuscan (or Lacinto) Kale (I think curly Kale would work too but might be a little more difficult to dry and then to coat with the cashew butter/olive oil and spice mixtures.

2 Tablespoons olive oil

2 Tablespoons Cashew Butter

1 Tablespoon lemon juice

2 Tablespoons nutritional yeast flakes

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon each smoked paprika, garlic powder, chili powder and cumin

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Wash the kale and dry it well. I don’t have a salad spinner but that would be a great way to get as much moisture off the leaves as possible.  I rolled the leaves between two dish towels and still blotted some water off with paper towels.

Pull the thick stems from each kale leaf.  If you fold the leaf in half along the length of the rib or stem and hold the leaf with one hand, you can pull the stem with the other hand and zip it right out of the leaf.

Zip stems from leaves

The leaves will shrink, so you can tear them into pieces, but keep them fairly large. Put the pieces of kale in a large bowl.

In a small bowl, combine cashew butter, olive oil and lemon juice.

Scrape the cashew butter mixture over the leaves and massage the leaves so all the leaves become well coated.

In another small bowl, combine the nutritional yeast flakes, salt, smoked paprika, garlic powder, chili powder and cumin.  Sprinkle this mixture over the kale leaves and toss together to coat.

Arrange leaves on two large baking sheets so they are not overlapping or wadded up and stuck together with the cashew butter mixture.

Bake 12 to 15 minutes, checking after about 10 minutes.  If leaves aren’t completely crisp but still seem limp or soggy, bake another minute or two.

When kale leaves are finished baking, let them cool than carefully remove from baking sheets and store in an airtight container.  I found my metal dough scraper to be an excellent stand-in for a spatula when I was removing them from the pan.  They will crumble and shatter fairly easily so use care.

Baked Kale Chips

I served them when crafting with friends and got some nice compliments but I admit that when someone brought out the guacamole and tortilla chips, the Kale Chips were relegated to second place.  Guacamole is hard to compete with.  I did feel better about snacking on Baked Kale Chips and managed to avoid the Thin Mint cookies for an afternoon.

Bowl O' Kale Chips

Thank you for visiting.

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking

One response to “Baked Kale Chips

  1. Becky Reetz

    What a treat to get this tasty little blog note in my box today. Perfect for the WW plan we are on right now!

    Becky Reetz
    EOPS/CARE & CalWORKs Coordinator
    College of Marin
    415-485-9633

    ~Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.
    ~W.B.Yeats

Leave a Reply

