Little Fairy Gardens

Fairy Music Garden

I’ve been working on these little fairy gardens for awhile but they were gifts and I didn’t want the recipients to see them. I’m delighted to finally share them with you.

It was the project at a recent  Tuesday night Craft Gym at Once Around (a wonderful local craft shop).  The instructor, Lauren, posted a picture of Teacup Fairy Garden that she had crafted.  My initial response was lukewarm – kind of “meh.”  What would I do with it? Where would I put it?  I don’t have a teacup!

But the next morning on a walk I started thinking of upcoming birthdays and how a sweet, miniature garden in a small bowl, pot or teacup would be. Once I began gathering twigs and pods and thinking how they could be used for the project, I was hooked.

Heart Back Chair

Everyone brought their own containers to the class and we started creating.  Each miniature plot was different.  I found a small painted pot from Mexico at Sloat Garden Center in Kentfield and filled it with Irish moss.

Twig Chair Leaf Pillow

We learned how to make chairs from twigs adhered with hot glue. A leaf cushion made from thick felt added to the charm of the twig chair I made.  Small pine cones make finials.  The twisty twig heart used for the chair back was an item I picked up in the store. A little slice of branch makes becomes the top of a small side table, a perfect spot on which the little book can rest.

Leavesall about leaves

Sea glass, a flat glass marble, a shard of abalone shell and a sparkly silver-glitter star decorate one corner of the pot.

Sea glass

Small seed pods from a liquid amber tree strung with beads in between make a festive garland.

Seed Pod garland

Once I got started, I couldn’t wait to make another.  I stumbled upon the awesome The Magic Onions site which has loads of Fairy Garden pictures, DIY’s, information and even a contest, which I’m going to enter.  Be sure and check it out!

Here is another little fairy garden in a similar pot, also planted with Irish moss.

Angel Fairy Garden

The side table in this one is made from a cork.  A tiny acorn became a goblet of wine, or maybe it is nectar.  I used ink and Diamond Glaze to fill the cup and it stained the acorn red.

Book of music with wine

The cover of the music book is made from bark, backed with paper.  An itty-bitty succulent is potted in an acorn cap.

Succulent in Acorn Pot

Washi tape makes a colorful garland and acorn caps glued to felted green balls top the twig posts.

Washi tape garland

This mini-garden was created for a friend who loves angels so I found and copied this little bead angel that works perfectly as a garden ornament.  I found the beads at Baubles  and Beads in Berkeley.

Bead Angel

I made my third fairy garden a little larger because this one needed a bit more space.  I also decided to go with dried moss instead of living moss that would need watering.

A bowl found at Cost Plus World Market is the container.  Rocks in the bottom serve as ballast to increase stability.  I filled the bowl part way up with a potting mix for cactus then topped it with dried moss.  You can find it at a garden shop or craft supply store, but I actually found mine at Cost Plus.

Bowl with rock ballast

Moss

Moss in bowl

Another twig chair but this time I added a tiny bird perched on the back.  Once Around has a “Do Dad” section with jars of a changing selection of little goodies, like sequins, bottle caps, clothespins and other items and that is where I found the bird.

Twig chair with bird

I fashioned fairy-sized musical instruments.  This garden went to my friend Jane who was having a birthday celebration in her back yard and encouraged her guests to bring instruments.  I brought instruments, but of the teeny-tiny variety.

Fairy-sized instruments

I’m very pleased how these came out.  The drum has bark sides with paper for the drum head that I colored to make it look more like an animal skin. I peeled a twig for the mallet, twisted a tuft of wool around it and covered it in fabric.

drum

The handles of the maracas and the stringed instrument are from the same seed pod, with the heads of the maracas from small acorns. There are tiny seeds inside the maracas so when you shake them you can hear the rattle.  The pan pipes are cut from a reed and glued together.  I used embroidery thread to make the oh-so-little tassels.

pan pipes

Music in the garden

I love how the sea glass looks in these fairy gardens so I included it in this one too.  Dried bougainvillea bracts, rattlesnake (or big quaking) grass and a few other dried plants I picked up on hikes complete this garden.  I even added some coriander seeds to a bit of dried berry bush that was missing its berries.  They don’t show here, it is behind the chair, but I want the garden to look good from any angle.

Here is a felted gnome I made, waiting for the fairy music to begin.

gnome and fairy garden

Thanks for stopping by.  Do let me know if you make your own fairy garden.

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Crafts

5 responses to “Little Fairy Gardens

  1. violetannie63

    Absolutely gorgeous! :)

    • Thanks so much! I have been ignoring everything as I obsessed over tiny bits of twigs and seed pods and removing strands of dried hot glue.

      • violetannie63

        I love working on anything tiny! It’s very therapeutic somehow… :)

      • You know what I’ve been finding really therapeutic lately? Crochet! I’ve just learned how to do it and I’m really a beginner. I find it really peaceful to sit with yarn and crochet hook.

      • violetannie63

        Oh I’d like to say I feel the same way about crochet…but I just couldn’t get the hang of it when my Mother-in-Law tried to show me. I have demented fingers :P

Leave a Reply

