Art Journal: Collage & Watercolor

Bird Collage

I’ve been saving this image of a bird standing on a branch, stamped in black ink on grey tissue paper for a few years. Looking through material to use in this two page spread, I came across the image and decided to use it.

I layered bits and pieces of paper with different text and music onto my pages, then scraped a thin layer of white gesso over them.  I didn’t want to use too much color for the background but I did include a little bit of green and pink.

Next I used watercolor crayons, watercolor paints and colored markers to color in the bird.  I stamped the little trio of flowers a few times and added some purple (I used an air spritzer tool with a marker) and green to the image.  I stamped a few other images and then wiped a little gesso over these extras images to keep the focus on the bird.

Bird Image

On the opposite page, I used this technique from Carson at Pine & Plum: using Thickers or other cut-out letters as masks.  I spelled out “Bird” using letters I picked up at Dollar Tree.  Then I painted a wash of blue watercolor over and around the letters, making sure to get into all the corners and curves.

I used my heat tool to dry the paint then carefully peeled the letters off the page, leaving behind the word in white in a field of blue.  The background is a printed paper with a handwriting-style design that I brushed and scraped with a thin layer of gesso.  The writing shows through but doesn’t distract.  Below “Bird” I stamped more text so there are layers of different fonts and words.

Bird Word

I’ve been looking at Art Journaling on other blogs and I like to look at the materials they use. I saw Gelly Roll pens by Sakura mentioned several times and picked up a Gelly Roll Stardust Clear and a set of Glaze 3-D Gloss Ink pens.

Shimmer Ink Close up

I used the sparkly pen which is shimmery and clear on the lower part of the letters. I also used it on the bird and the three flowers.  The I dotted the eye of the bird with the glaze pen in black and added a little purple glaze to the flowers.

Three Flowers

I added a bit of washi tape, including some with a music design.  I love using music on pages with bird designs.  I also went back o the bird and first used a bit of gesso around her then, after drying that, I painted on blue watercolor to balance the blue around the letters of the word on the other side of the page.

The last thing I put into this layout was the little feather I picked up on a walk the same day I created the spread.

feather

A few quick swipes of blue, a blast of the heat gun and lettering in white finished the page.

full page bird

Thanks for your visit.

4 Comments

Filed under Art Journal Pages, Crafts

4 responses to “Art Journal: Collage & Watercolor

  1. violetannie63

    Your best pages yet! Love them <3

  2. Joan

    You are so talented. How do you think I could start to learn to do simple art projects?. I have never tried before and believe I do not have any talent.

    • Thanks, Joan. I’ve been crafty for as long as I can remember. There are many, many online tutorials on YouTube that show different techniques. I don’t know what catches your interest, but I encourage you to give it a try. It can be both fun and relaxing.

Leave a Reply

