Art From The Heart

Felted Wool Chocolates

This and all of the following wonderful creations are Valentine projects that my sweetheart and I have crafted for each other. Rem came up with “Art From The Heart”  for a name to our ongoing project and it really is.  He got the idea 9 or 10 years ago after reading an article about a man (one of his coworkers at the time) who made clever Valentine projects for his wife.  Many were made from recycled materials and were created in a clever, whimsical style.

We decided to give it a try and a tradition was started.  Both of us have a lovely display on the wall by our bed, mine to him on his side and his to me on my side.  So here is a gallery of many of the items we have made for each other.  No instructions,  just some details on the various items.

You can click on the little pictures if you want to enlarge them.

Needle Felted Chocolates (above at top of post): This was fun to work on because I needed models to work from (of course).  I’m very pleased with the results.

Heart of the Tree: Rem picked up the piece of wood when we cut down our Christmas tree one year.  It is a slice from the bottom of the trunk and he sanded and polished it up, varnished it and added red glass pieces in the shape of a heart.

Music Box Heart

Music Box Heart: SCRAP in San Francisco is a wonderful nonprofit: a creative reuse center that receives materials from businesses that would otherwise go into landfill and makes them available to teachers, artists, organizations, etc.  I picked up this music box there and decoupaged and decorated it.

Recycled Spaceship

Recycled Spaceship: Parts from a plastic storage box, a milk jug and other bits and pieces came together with stickers and foil in this spaceship that Rem made.  The love story that accompanied this Valentine project made it even more special.

Home Is Where the Heart Is

Home Is Where The Heart Is: I made this small  cardboard and paper house one year for Rem, my happy homemaker. The brown house is covered in a patchwork made from Trader Joe’s grocery bags.  The red heart on the front of the house, and the blue shingles on the roof were made from pieces of boxed products we use around the house (cereal, Kleenex, pasta, tea, etc.)

Puppy Love

Puppy Love: Rem soldered this little puppy bookmark from found parts for me but it was a bit heavy for a bookmark.  It looks wonderful on the wall with the other Valentine projects. I love the little heart nose.

B mine

B mine: A letter B from Michaels is what I started with for this one and then painted it blue and added swirls, charms and letters to spell out “mine”. The B stands for both “be” and “Boo”, one of Rem’s nicknames.

Red wire heart on copper

Heart Wired: This one from Rem just knocked my socks off.  Copper and aluminum with soldered hearts on the corners and a big fat heart in the center made from bundles of red wire.  Tough materials transformed into a sweet token of love. Awww.

“Things I Love” Altoids Tin Closed

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Things I Love: I saw versions of this project online and had lots of fun making it: a little book that fits inside an Altoids tin then accordioned out with decorated pages about some of the “things I love” about Rem.

IMG_0445

Heart in the Sand

Heart in the Sand: Rem did a photo project last year: a photo a day, every day, for the whole year!  In keeping with this enterprise he went to the beach, drew in the sand and took a picture of it for my Valentine.

Love Book

 

 

 

 

 

Love Book:  This little book was one of the first projects that Rem made.  He used scavenged HVAC metal, complete with little charms and a copper heart on the back.

Morse Code Valentine

Detail of Morse Code Valentine

Morse Code Valentine: I wanted to make something for Rem that included Morse code as he is into HAM radio (and uses Morse code for that).  I punched dots and dashes out of foil and included a foil-embossed design from a rubber stamp.

Altar di Amore

Altar di Amore: More scavenged metal parts (a CD cover and a cake tin) wired together by Rem to create a love altar.  I added little trinkets including a few from Folk Art Gallery in San Rafael and a heart-shaped piece of coral from a friend.

Kinetic Hearts

Kinectic Heart Close-Up

Kinetic Hearts: This is the Art From The Heart for 2011 from Rem and it was another one that really wowed me.  It is like a kind of a mobile but instead of hanging from the ceiling, it hangs from a bracket that comes out from the wall.  A strand of red wire is strung with three thin copper hearts that have a hammered texture.  Fishing line swivels are interspersed with the hearts along the wire so the hearts turn slowly as they are moved by air currents.  The hearts seem to float in front of the wall.

Carved Tree Trunk

Love Note

Tiny Love Letter

Heart Engraved Tree Trunk: My creation for 2011 is this tree trunk with our initials “carved” into the wood (crafted from cardboard, paper mache, paper, string, ink, glue and paint). Hidden under a knot on the lower left is a secret space for a tiny love letter.

I hope you’ve enjoyed looking at our creations.  Have you got your own “Art From The Heart”?  If so, please send me pictures so I can post them. If not, maybe these projects will inspire you to craft something special for someone you love.

Thanks for stopping by.  Your comments are welcomed and encouraged.

16 Comments

Filed under Crafts

16 responses to “Art From The Heart

  1. Tracy

    OK, such a collection of creative and artistic pieces! Do you display them together? I hope you’ve put years on each of them!

    • Most have the year on them but some don’t. The majority of them are displayed on either side of our bed but some (like the little books) are tucked onto a bookshelf somewhere else. The ones Rem made are on my side and the ones I made are on his side. Thank you, it really is a wonderful collection.

  2. Eileen

    Could not help sharing these photos and this great story on Facebook; so special. Thanks Dianne. I have seen some of these up close, and it was really fun to see more of them and learn more about this special tradition between you and your Boo.

  3. Pingback: Happy Blog-Anniversary to Me! | dianne faw

  4. Pingback: Art From The Heart II | dianne faw

  5. Ok, I’m floored. What a romantic project. You have a remarkable man in your life. I don’t know of any men around here that would want to do this project. Wow.

  6. Pingback: Art from the Heart 2013 | dianne faw

  7. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Wrap-Up | dianne faw

  8. I’m looking to do something very similar to this, is there any way you can give me more details of how you crafted this?? And what size this one is? I want to something similar around 30″ tall. Also with a small for that swings open.

    I know this post is a few years old, so I’m hoping you rely 🙂

    Thanks

    • Hi, Tifini – That post has a number of different projects in it. Which specific one are you talking about? I’d be happy to give more details.

      • Oh sorry, I forgot to include the name. It’s the heat engraved tree trunk. I’ve been trolling the internet and racking my brain for ideas, and this looks prefect.

        I’m so glad you responded, thanks again.
        Tifini

      • Hi, Tifini – I cut out a piece of an oatmeal box, maybe 10 inches tall. That gave me the curve I wanted for the tree trunk. Then I took twisted paper and string to make designs imitating bark, which I then covered with some homemade paper mache. I think I used strips of newspaper and modpodge to cover the bark design I’d created. It’s been a few years but I am pretty sure I helped the drying time by using a heat gun to dry the paper mache and then the paint I did. Perhaps you can make a taller trunk by connecting two oatmeal box halves? Good luck!
        If you want to email me I can send a few more pictures. Looking at them just now, I think I used tissue paper when I was layering the trunk texture. Send to dianne dot faw (at symbol) gmail dot com

  9. Like the Altoid tin decor! Trying to figure out how to decorate my Altoids tins I am using for makeup and came across your page! 🙂

    • I love that items I’ve posted months or even years before are out there in the blog for people to find. Send me a picture on your finished decorated tin; I’d love to see it and include it in my “Readers” section. Thanks for writing.

  10. Pingback: Art from the Heart 2015 | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

