This Is Really Juicy!

So that got your attention.  Did you think I had some big news?  Or hot gossip??  I just wanted to tell you about our latest caper.

It all started when Rem and I went to the Rafael and watched a documentary called “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead”.  You can learn more about the film on their site but suffice it to say we were intrigued and inspired enough that we bought a juicer.  A  Breville JE98XL Juice Fountain Plus to be specific.  And we’ve started The Great Juice Adventure!

Some people go on a juice “fast” but fasting means to abstain from food.  Others go on a “cleanse” which sounds so clinical and unpleasant to me.  What we’re doing is juicing loads of fresh fruits and vegetables and consuming the juice.  For ten days.

Rem started a day before me so he’s on Day 4 and I’m on Day 3.  We juiced 2 x per day as part of our transition prior to going all-juice partly to try different blends of fruits and veggies and partly to ease into it.  I’m feeling  low energy today (better after my morning juice) but from what we’ve learned, that is to be expected.  We’re curious to see what else will happen.

Since I’ve been eating more wisely and making better food and activity choices I’ve been eating a lot of fruits and vegetables and I savor the taste of veggies.  Rem has been struggling more with the taste but  I’m having fun creating interesting combinations and with trial and error, we’re finding  what works for us.

Because I want to keep this interesting I decided to try many different things.  Some ingredients I was fairly skeptical of (kale, sweet potato, fennel) but found perfectly tasty.   Others (cabbage) have been dropped from the ingredient list (shudder).  Granny Smith apples, pears, carrots and celery have all been stalwarts and one of them is in just about every juice I make.  I’ve learned to add things like lemon in increments and taste before added too much and that a piece of ginger, some lime, or a handful of cilantro or mint leaves can be the difference between a so-so juice and a really delicious one.

Following are some…well, not recipes because I didn’t measure everything precisely, but some blends that I’ve enjoyed.  Yields vary according to the size of the fruits and veggies used as well as the type of juicer used.

We start our day with a fruity one but include some veggies too.

Breakfast Blend Juice

6 carrots, scrubbed and ends trimmed

2 Granny Smith apples, quartered and cored

1 orange, peeled

1 tangerine, peeled

1/2 beet, scrubbed and trimmed

about 4 large strawberries, stemmed

a handful of red grapes

1/2 cup of pineapple chunks

Juice together. Stir to combine.  Enjoy!

Drink Your Greens (this is pictured above and is also the earlier picture showing the separate red and green colors)

This is bursting with nutritious and flavorful ingredients.  One sip and you can taste the vitality.  It reminds me of a tree with buds bursting into green leaves.

6 kale leaves, washed, ends trimmed

4 large chard leaves, washed, ends trimmed

A handful of beet greens, washed

1 zucchini, trim ends

2 Granny Smith apples, quartered and cored

2 stalks celery, ends trimmed

1/2 lime, peeled

about 1 inch piece of green onion

1/2 small bunch of cilantro

Juice together. Stir to combine.  Taste and add more lime or cilantro if needed.  Enjoy!

Sweet Potato Sunshine

I really wasn’t sure about sweet potato juice. But Rem and I both like this sweet juice spiked with citrus and ginger.

1 medium garnet sweet potato, scrubbed and ends trimmed

4 carrots, scrubbed and ends trimmed

4 stalks celery, ends trimmed

1 Granny Smith apple, quartered and cored

1 orange, peeled

1 tangerine, peeled

1 red bell pepper, quartered and seeded

about 1 inch piece of fresh ginger

Juice together. Stir to combine.  Enjoy!

Gazpacho Juice

I love gazpacho and this has that flavor plus the nutritional punch of added greens.

1 cucumber, peeled

3 tomatoes, cored and cut to fit juicer feed chute

1 red bell pepper, quartered and seeded

1 Granny Smith Apple

4 kale leaves, washed and ends trimmed

2 chard leaves, washed and ends trimmed

1 inch piece of green onion

1/2 lime, peeled

1/2 bunch of cilantro (or basil)

small piece of chile pepper

Juice together. Stir to combine.  Taste and add more lime or cilantro if needed. Enjoy!

Fennel and Fruit Juice

This is a beautiful jade green juice that is sweet and refreshing with the distinct licorice flavor of  fennel.

1 bulb of fennel, ends trimmed and cut into pieces to fit juicer feed chute

about 1 cup packed spinach leaves

3 leaves kale, washed and ends trimmed

1 pear, quartered and cored

1 Granny Smith apple, quartered and cored

1/2 lime, peeled

Juice together. Stir to combine.  Enjoy!

Cantaloupe and Carrot Juice

I fixed this for Rem this morning and he said it was enjoyable: “semi-sweet and fruity”.

4 carrots, scrubbed and ends trimmed

about 2 cups of red grapes

about 1 cup of cantaloupe chunks

Juice together. Stir to combine.  Enjoy!

If you are interested in more information you can check out this site: Join the Reboot.  It was started by Joe Cross, the subject of the documentary as well as the Executive Producer and Co-Director.  It has nutritional information, reboot guidelines, recipes and community forums.

As always, thanks for stopping by.

10 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Life

10 responses to “This Is Really Juicy!

  1. Kathleen Faw

    Very proud of both of you (Rem!!) for doing this. It can’t be easy.
    These juices LOOK lovely but I tasted some of them. The green one tasted (This is bursting with nutritious and flavorful ingredients), very green, (is that a flavor?), and sour (yuck & shudder)! Of course that was before the lemon ratio was adjusted, but still…
    The fruity one was okay and I’d be interested in trying a sweet potato/carrot/citrus/apple mix (skip the red pepper). Fennel in anything is a no-no, hate that flavor.
    You can certainly say that I am not the best judge of vegetables, so this is just my opinion. If you generally LIKE vegetables then you might totally agree with statements like this, “One sip and you can taste the vitality. It reminds me of a tree with buds bursting into green leaves.”

  2. Leah

    Hooray for kale! I really love kale, and am glad to see it turning up in so many of your juices. I’d love to try some of these. Might be time to consider a juicer. I was partial to a cucumber-grapefruit-honeydew melon drink at this place in portland that was the freshest, lightest, most refreshing combo in the world. Mmmmmm.

    • Kale is definitely nutrient-dense. I usually have it stir-fried with garlic and a bit of balsamic vinegar. That melon drink sounds wonderful – I may try a variation with the watermelon and cantaloupe I have now because conveniently I’ve also got cucumber and grapefruit! I’d love to juice you up a cup some time… and maybe just a little fresh mint?

    • Oooh, Leah! I made my two juices that I’ll take to work tomorrow and one is cucumber-grapefruit-watermelon-cantaloupe and a little mint. It is so delicious! Thanks for mentioning it.

  3. Hi Dianne! I found you through Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead on Facebook. I am a crafter and have my own blog too! My dh and I will be starting a 10 day fast ( hoping we will continue for the full 60) Friday ( my dh is switching one of his meds so he can now use cruciferous veggies..thus the wait) We are so excited and so ready! We both have health issues and I am hoping for some great things to come from this fast. Great time to be starting this as fresh fruit and produce is really starting to come in now! I appreciate your suggestions for some juice combo`s and will be trying them. I would love to stay in touch! I have not announced my intentions on my blog yet but am considering it in case we could inspire someone else. The film had me both laughing and crying! Would love for you to stop by my blog sometime!! Happy juicing and the best of health to you and Rem!! Hugs, Judi

    • Hi, Judi – I took a quick peak at your blog and will stop by later when I have more time. I agree, the movie was wonderful and we also laughed and cried. I’m starting day four and feel better than I did yesterday. That was a low-energy day. Thanks for your comment and all the best to you and your dh. Rem and I have different issues but felt the Great Juice Adventure was well worth trying for both of us. It would be hard to do it alone, so I’m glad you’re doing it together.

  4. Pingback: Emerald City Salad | dianne faw

  5. Pingback: Happy St. Patrick’s Day! | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

