Day 4: Pizza Bites

Bites of dough made from scratch, stuffed with warm, melt-y mozzarella cheese and spicy bits of pepperoni.  Rem and I made Pizza Bites for dinner and though we enjoyed them, we didn’t love them as we expected to.  Maybe because I adjusted the recipe to make it a little healthier (1/4 wheat flour in the dough, part skim mozzarella cheese and in my half of the batch, turkey pepperoni) but these were more doughy and less yummy than we’d hoped.

I found the recipe on Annie’s Eats (click on the title to go to her blog and see her recipe) and made the changes mentioned above.  We don’t have a stand mixer so I mixed and kneaded the dough by hand.  These are good and kind of fun but I don’t know if we would make them again.

I don’t like all the tomato sauce on most pizza but I love the crust.  Because these little balls of dough are put up against each other in the pan before baking they aren’t very crusty.  Perhaps baking them in a larger pan and more spread out would make them more like I imagined.  Of course using whole milk mozzarella and some cooked Italian sausage might win me over too.  I dipped some in marinara and could imagine them slathered in butter.

Paprika marked the ones filled with turkey pepperoni

Making pizza dough and baking Pizza Bites on a rainy day with your sweetheart isn’t a bad thing and we’ll use the other half of the dough for pizza dinner on another night. That is my creation for today, day 4 of 30 Days of Creativity.

UPDATE: Leftovers, warmed in the microwave for about 20 seconds than toasted in the toaster oven were really good, especially with a bit of butter.

4 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Cooking

4 responses to “Day 4: Pizza Bites

  1. I love your 30 day creativity project…I also love a couple of things about how you’re doing it…you’re being creative about making time for the project du jour – at work, during lunch, with friends! AND, you’re open to the fact that sometimes things don’t turn out as well as maybe you’d hoped. Good for you!

    • Thanks, Lis! I’m more of a perfectionist with projects when I don’t have them happening every day. I want this to be fun so it has to fit in with other aspects of my life. If something doesn’t work, well, that was that day’s project, gotta move on.

  2. Pingback: Day 4: Double Sponged & Embossed Cards | dianne faw

  3. Pingback: Day 4: Running Out Of Time | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

