Day 6: Infused Oil

My creation for today: garlic, lemon, thyme and chili flakes infused in oil.  Easy, beautiful and a delicious addition to many dishes.  I’d received a bottle of infused oil for Christmas (thanks, Mirs) and following the directions on the tag I put it in the fridge.  It got forgotten lost amongst the condiment bottles but when I discovered it again I started drizzling it into salads and over vegetables.  I dipped bread in it and put a little into a warm bowl of cannellini beans.

But then it was gone and I had a pretty, little bottle.  An empty, pretty, little bottle.

I read a few recipes online and thought it would be a simple project for Day 6 of 30 Days of Creativity.  I put two long curls of lemon peel with the white pith removed, two cloves of garlic, a few stems of fresh thyme and a pinch of red pepper flakes into the  bottle.  I warmed plain canola oil in a glass measure in the microwave and poured it over the contents of the bottle. Once it was cooled down, Rem closed the lid and put it in the fridge.  That’s it!  It needs to stay in the fridge and best to use within 3 weeks to avoid any risk of nasty bacteria.

It was so easy I still had creative energy to spare, so I made a tag for the bottle.

I appreciate the visit, thanks for stopping by!

7 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Cooking, Crafts

7 responses to “Day 6: Infused Oil

  1. Carson

    I see christmas gifts….

  2. Dipping oil is something on my list to try. Why did you choose canola oil instead of extra virgin olive oil? I quickly looked at your blog this afternoon and really enjoyed your photography.

    • I figured the flavor of the things I added didn’t need to compete with the flavor of olive oil, especially extra virgin olive oil, so I chose canola as a mild flavored oil. It is also important to keep it in the fridge and the canola oil, though it will get a bit cloudy, won’t get thick like the olive oil. Thanks for the comments!

  3. Pingback: Day 6: Shrinky Dink Rings II – Fail! | dianne faw

  4. Pingback: Day 6: Mosaic Poppies | dianne faw

  5. Pingback: 12 Ideas for Christmas | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

