Day 12: Needle Felted Placemat

This colorful placemat is wool needle felted onto a piece of felt.  For Day 12 I wanted a project that was easier than the paper dress I crafted yesterday.  Poking the little barbed needles into the wool over and over takes some time.  It is a bit mindless and repetitive yet still fun and creative combining the different colors and working with the soft roving (dyed but unspun wool)

I got the idea almost a year ago when I saw a similar design on a table covering in a craft store.  If this wasn’t part of the 30 Days of Creativity project, I would have spent more time (and money) shopping for some different colors of wool but I decided to work with the stuff I had on hand (and I had plenty).

After cutting out the background piece of felt, I started making little circles within circles, switching the colors around so each little bullseye was unique.  It can be meditative poking the wool but  I didn’t get too relaxed and lose track of what I was doing  because the felting needs are long, sharp and barbed!

Once I had enough circles, I laid them on the felt background and rearranged them until I was happy with the pattern.  Maybe it’s because the background is green felt, but it makes me think of a Girl Scout sash loaded with some new, modern style of badge.

Felting the circles onto the placemat was more working with sharp implements.  I used a tool with 5 needles which was much faster than doing it with a single needle.  After breaking two of them I slowed down and remembered a basic rule of needle felting: up-and-down motion.  Trying to go at an angle resulted in breaking two and spending  a little extra time finishing the project.

Tomorrow I have something in mind that is faster because it is Monday and I’ll be back at work and won’t have as much time to spend on my project.

I appreciate the visit and hope you’ll come back again to see more of 30 Days of Creativity.

5 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

5 responses to “Day 12: Needle Felted Placemat

  1. Gina Nichols

    Hi Diane,
    I am loving ALL your wonderful Crafts.
    this is just beautiful, I love the softness and your color combinations!
    Julie G. gave me your site info.
    Thank you.<3
    Gina

  2. Pingback: Thrumming - Knitting Warmth Exactly Where You Want It | KnittingYarn.com

  3. Pingback: Day 12: String Jar | dianne faw

  4. Pingback: Day 12: Hand Made | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

