Day 16: Shrinky Dink Key Ring

Oh, what a face!  Day 16 and another idea for a Father’s Day craft.  Of course you can make a key ring for yourself or a friend too.

This is a great way to use a cute photo (or fun vintage one).  You need to get Shrinky Dinks shrinkable plastic for Ink-jet printers which I purchased at Michaels.  There are very specific directions in the package such as lighten the photo before printing so it isn’t too dark once it shrinks and make photo large enough to shrink down – it will be 1/3 the original size and 9 times thicker when you’re finished.  Be sure to punch a standard size hole prior to shrinking.  I rounded the corners too.

Then fire up the toaster oven and watch the magic!  It curls and writhes and yes, it shrinks.  It eventually flattens out  (most of the time, anyway) or you can help it along with a wood spoon or chopstick.  Let it cool and add some rings which I found at my local hardware store.   A layer of protective coating is advised in the Shrinky Dink directions.  But I didn’t do that.

Wouldn’t this be more fun for Dad than a tie?

Happy Father’s Day to my Dad, David.  I’m in the green dress on the key ring above along with my siblings.

Note: If you don’t have an ink-jet printer, their website FAQ’s says you can use the standard “Frosted Rough and Ready” Shrinky Dinks and run them through a copier.  Hello, Kinko’s!

7 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

7 responses to “Day 16: Shrinky Dink Key Ring

  1. I love your key chains–cute pics and such a great idea! I have played around with shrinky dinks lately but for some reason it never occurred to me to try it with a photograph, I’ve just been shrinking line drawings. I haven’t had much luck with adding a “protective coating” by the way, it always ends up smearing the ink badly. My latest trick is to spray it with hairspray first, then varnish it but I’m pretty sure that’s a lousy idea if you want your stuff to last. p.s. Your blog header is so cool, is that your desk? So inviting 🙂

    • Thanks, Cheryl. Your projects are great too. I think I’m going to try the fused plastic bags. I’m getting a bit consumed with the 30 Days of Creativity – on the one hand it has really gotten me to stretch and try out lots of new things but I’ve got craft projects piling up and supplies all OVER the place. It would be easier with a craft ROOM (dreaming) with a door that I could close and leave the mess behind!
      Thanks a bunch for the great comments!
      Dianne

  2. Carson

    I’d like to order 10 of these for Christmas gifts please! I love these, they turned out beautifully. It was fun to open Pinterest and see my kiddo on the board, you’re the best Dianne!

  3. wow…loved this!such amazing idea 🙂

  4. Pingback: Day 16: Handcarved Rubber Stamp | dianne faw

  5. Pingback: Day 16: Feather | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

