Day 25: Pickled Carrot Sticks

My creation for today: pickled carrots sticks with garlic, ginger and dill.  I won’t really know how these are until they’ve been soaking up the lovely brine (at least 24 hours from now – in reality, I’ll probably have some with my lunch on Monday), but I have a good idea they’ll be delicious.

I adapted the recipe from Smitten Kitchen (who in turn had adapted the recipe from Gourmet Magazine), with a bit of  Sunset Magazine thrown in, so they have a good lineage.

Pickled Carrot Sticks

1 lbs. carrots, peeled and cut into sticks (about 3″ x 1/3″)

1 1/4 C water

1 C cider vinegar

1/4 C sugar

2 garlic cloves, lightly crushed

1 1/2 Tbsp. salt

1 1/2 Tbsp. mustard seed

2 slices of peeled ginger, about 1/8 inch thick

Several sprigs of fresh dill

Put carrots in a heat proof bowl.  Bring remaining ingredients except the fresh dill to a boil in a saucepan.  Reduce heat and simmer for two minutes.  Pour pickling liquid over carrots and cool, uncovered.  Put carrots with the liquid in an airtight container with the dill sprigs and chill at least one day for flavors to develop.  Keep the pickled carrot sticks in the fridge in an airtight container and they should keep for a month…but I know mine won’t last that long!

Thanks for the visit.

6 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

6 responses to “Day 25: Pickled Carrot Sticks

  1. M.

    Loving your blog! Beautiful crafts & delicious looking foods! 🙂 Looks like we were both lucky enough to receive creativity kits. Nice stuff, right? I love love love the Scotch photo laminating pocket things.

  2. Leah

    I made this same recipe for my pickle contest and they *rocked*. I made mine with fennel and highly recommend it!
    xox, L

    • They are delicious with the addition of some ginger slices. I thought of doing the grapes too (based on your previous experience) but it was about 9 PM when I started and oh, I didn’t have enough grapes. So I stuck with the carrots. I like. Fennel sounds good too.

  3. rasheeda

    oh its sounds so good, i will make it soon and will let you know.
    thnx

  4. Pingback: Day 25: Bird Collage | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

