Day 27: Photo Cards

Day 27: Pick out pretty photographs from your files, scale the photo to work with your cards, print them onto nice, heavy, smooth paper, trim them and glue to ready-made folded cards of different colors.  Easy, huh?

I needed an easy project for today and had this one in mind.  I like to take photos when I’m out on a weekend hiking or visiting a beautiful garden or farm.  I share the photos with friends and that’s about it.  Using them for cards is a way to enjoy them again and give them new purpose.

The photo of plums on the upper right was taken on a visit to Green String Farm in Petaluma, CA. with Rem.  I took the pictures of the tangerines and dates and the colander of raspberries when I assisted Tom Hudgens with a series of seasonal cooking classes.  The icelandic poppy pictured below is from Filoli, a beautiful estate and garden in Woodside, CA that I like to stroll around with a friend.  These pictures are all connected with good memories and it is a pleasure seeing them and using them.

You could fold colored card stock (cut an 8 1/2 inch by 11 inch sheet in half for two cards) and use that, but I had cards left from this great assorted box of 50 textured cards in various colors with envelopes that I got at Michaels a few years ago and they were ready to go. The brand is is DCWV or Die Cuts With a View.

I wanted to try something – I signed my first initial with my last name and the year on the front of the cards.  About halfway through I decided I didn’t like how it looked on the front of the card so for the remaining cards, I left it off. Which way do you prefer? The inside of all the cards is blank.

The finishing touch is a signature or initials on the back of the card. I have a wonderful rubber stamp I received as a gift (thanks, Carson!) that came from the Etsy shop called Love to Create Stamps.  I stamped it in grey ink on white paper then added some color, cut them out and adhered them to the back of the cards.

I’m really delighted to have so many new subscribers here -WELCOME!

Thanks for taking a look.

6 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

6 responses to “Day 27: Photo Cards

  1. Just wish I could easily resize my pictures. I always give up – takes me forever! Great project.

  2. How frustrating. I was just dragging and clicking on the computer and I would eyeball it. I was looking for about 4 1/2 inches wide but don’t think they all came out exactly that. I’m glad you like the project and hope you can figure out an easy way to do the photos.

  3. eileenmarie

    I like your first initial and last name on the front of the card; I think it looks good and it identifies you easily. It will be a topic of conversation, might as well have your name on the front!

  4. Pingback: Day 27: Image Journal | dianne faw

  5. Pingback: Day 27: Do Something Creative | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

