Cool Comment Giveway and Gazpacho Recipe

Happy Fourth of July!  It’s HOT here today and I’m doing as little as possible.  I went to the Farmer’s Market yesterday morning and bought some wonderful produce.  I fixed gazpacho for dinner and peach ice cream for dessert.  Delicious.

I’m looking for feedback!  I’m going to give away several of my 30 Days of Creativity creations and the way you enter is by making a comment answering a specific question.  Here is the first item I’m giving away:

UPDATE: This giveway has a winner and is now closed.  Thank you!

From Day 28 of the 30 Days of Creativity project this is a bottlecap necklace featuring a snippet of map with my town, San Rafael, California, highlighted with a little red jewel.  It is on a cord and accented with some aquarium tubing beads.

Here is how you enter this giveaway: In the comments section of this post, write down what your favorite creation that I made from the 30 Days of Creativity was and why.  It doesn’t have to be something you would make, although that is ok too.  If you don’t really want the necklace, you can put that too, but I’d still love your feedback.

You have until Friday, July 8 to enter.  To pick the winner, I will number the comments (omitting my responses and anyone who either doesn’t want the necklace or doesn’t follow the rules) and randomly pick a number with this nifty free random number generator.  I’ll send an email to the winner and they will have three days to respond.  If they don’t respond, I’ll pick another number. Once I have my winner, I will get their shipping address via email and send them the necklace!  Feel free to share this with your friends.

In the meantime, here is my gazpacho recipe.  I believe I got this from Sunset magazine years ago but I can’t find it in their online archives or in my own well-thumbed collection of recipes.  In fact, this is hardly a recipe and more of a method… You need delicious tomatoes and warm weather for this cold soup to really work.  This is a build-your-own-bowl gazpacho and it’s a perfect, cool supper for a hot, summer day.

Build-Your-Own-Bowl Gazpacho

Serves 4 to 6

Ingredients:

3 – 4 ripe tomatoes

1 cup cherry or grape tomatoes, cut in half

1 cup cucumber, diced (I prefer English cucumber with the skins left on)

1 bell pepper (red or yellow), diced

3 -4 stalks celery, sliced

1 avocado, cut in chunks

1/2 small bunch cilantro, finely chopped, including stems

2 or 3 green onions, thinly sliced

3 cups low-sodium tomato juice

1 cup low sodium chicken broth

balsamic vinegar

olive oil

a lime, cut in wedges

salt and pepper

chile flakes (optional)

Tabasco Sauce (optional)

Instructions:

Peel and seed the tomatoes and cut into chunks, saving as much juice as possible.  Put the tomato chunks and juice in a small serving bowl.  Arrange the other cut up vegetables on a platter.  Put chopped cilantro and green onions in small bowls.  I usually just put the can of tomato juice and the broth right on the table but if you want to be fancy, you can put these in pitchers.

Each person puts whatever combination of veggies in their own bowl that looks good to them, and pours in their desired amount of tomato juice and some broth (or not) and garnishes it with whatever mix of lime, cilantro, olive oil, and chile flakes they desire.  This way, if one person doesn’t like cucumber and another would prefer to omit cilantro, everyone can have it just the way they want.

In fact, Rem didn’t have any at all and so I’m going to enjoy another bowl for lunch.  I know many gazpacho recipes call for croutons, bread crumbs or stale bread in some variation.  I prefer some good bread on the side.

Mine included orange bell pepper and some pea shoots.  Shrimp is an excellent addition to this salad-like soup.

Stay cool and good luck with the contest.  I will post a winner once I’ve heard back from them and have a shipping address.

15 Comments

Filed under Crafts

15 responses to “Cool Comment Giveway and Gazpacho Recipe

  1. waysideartist

    Dianne,
    I am absolutely stupid for the fused plastic bags post. I gathered bags to give it a try, but keep getting pulled away from the project by annoying family interruptions. Maybe this week. It’s my favorite because it includes reusing common stuff, doesn’t cost anything (well maybe a zipper if someone doesn’t have a sewing cache), can have your own individual stamp on it (colors, store labels, etc.), and is addicting (always the sign of a great craft project!).

    The soda cap jewelry also fits the bill. I’d love to have the necklace, AND I can’t wait to try the gazpacho. Your recipe isn’t at all intimidating.

    Thanks,

    Nanina

    • Hi, Nanina – I think you’ll like the fused plastic bags when you can find the time. I want to do more with that technique but will have to rely on help with the sewing part of it. Good luck! And as for the gazpacho, you can’t go wrong if you have good tomatoes.

  2. Hi, I feel like I can’t just pick one. But if I have to I am going to pick DAY 28 – the bottlecap necklace. I haven’t seen this idea ever. I think this was a great idea for the fact that, it must take a lot of patients to make these. They are really cute. That is a great idea. When I saw it I was like ‘Oh maybe I can get one with the map of San Antonio, TX with the red dot’ but I know that I won’t ever get around to it. :0)

  3. Pick just one?!? I realize I may be eliminated because I’m not following the rules (and it’s okay if I don’t get the necklace…I’d rather have the honey vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce, though I don’t s’pose that’s as easy to mail!)…
    Here are my votes (yes, plural)
    project with the most beautiful photo: Infused oil
    most intricate (and impressive to me): the mini paper dress
    project I have done (or variations on the theme): refrigerator word magnets/glass bead magnets
    most touching: Father’s Day card for your dad (for so many reasons)
    most environmentally friendly: fused plastic bag pouches
    best helper (other than Rem): the gnome! I love the gnome!
    project I might actually do sometime in the semi-near future: match box and candle cover
    funnest: the neon toaster
    tastiest looking: honey vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce, though the gazpacho looks good (and I’ve made variations on this but it’s not really part of the 30 days and it’s very healthy which is all well and good but when sees the ice cream…)

    Great idea to do the giveaway! Kudos again for doing the whole 30 days!

    • LOVE all your answers. You aren’t disqualified. You may have to repeat one of your answers for a future giveaway – there will be more to come after this one. You are not the only one to mention ice cream and caramel sauce and sadly no, it wouldn’t do well in the mail. Thanks for the great comments and support.

  4. oolalang

    I love everything that has to do with collage projects that you posted, but I’ll have to pick the decoupage box with the sun printing on day 23 that you posted the day I subscribed! I’m constantly looking for ways to make my collages more interesting and this seems like something I really want to try.

  5. I am not going to tell you which is my favorite just yet as I am holding out for another of your giveaways, but I do want you to know that your new header looks fabulous! Way to mix it up!

  6. For me it was an easy choice. The Vegetable Printed Wrapping Paper. I mean it has paper, ink, and vegetables. What could be better?

    I want to work it with some diluted ink so that I can make writing paper with a faint design in the background – something attractive, yet subtle enough that it can be written over.

  7. The gazpocho looks devine! I can only imagine what it would taste like with those loaves of brown bread. Yummy!

  8. It’s surprising what you miss when you can’t access your email for a few days! This sounds a delicious recipe

Leave a Reply

