Pancakes and Pizza

Here are two cards I’ve made recently: a stack of pancakes with a pat of butter and golden brown maple syrup pouring over the top.  The pancakes are simply polka-dot paper (it seemed like the best color) with an edge of pale yellow paper.  I’m really proud of how the syrup turned out.  I colored the shape for the stream of syrup with markers on heavy vellum card stock than used dimensional adhesive (I’m pretty sure it was Diamond Glaze but it might have been Crystal Effects from Stampin’ Up! – I have both) to make it look shiny and translucent. Once it was dry I cut out the syrup and adhered it to the card.

Maybe you’d prefer a slice of…

pizza!  I saw this tutorial from Create with Christine and used that as the basis for this cute slice of pizza card.  I particularly like the olives (punch the holes in black paper using a regular size hole punch, than punch the circle around the hole with a circle punch) and the speckled slices of pepperoni.   I punched the pepperoni using a circle punch and made them a bit convex by embossing them on a mat with a stylus then added little spots of white gel ink, and brown and yellow markers.  A little brown ink sponged on the edge of the pepperoni makes it look crispy.Finally, I attached them to the pizza with foam adhesive dots.

The lid of a yogurt container makes a great template for the curve of the crust and I embossed it the same way as the pepperoni.  A sanding block rubbed on the crust and some ink sponged on makes the crust look like it is dusted with flour and a bit toasty.  Are you craving pizza yet?

Oh, what the heck, here’s a reprise from another post.  It fit with the theme of today’s post: cards that look good enough to eat: an ice cream cone card.  This was actually has scratch ‘n sniff chocolate sauce and a scratch ‘n sniff cherry (I wrote about scratch ‘n sniff  here) with an embossed waffle cone.

Thanks for stopping by.   Coming later this week: another GIVEAWAY from the 30 Days of Creativity projects!

4 Comments

Filed under Crafts

4 responses to “Pancakes and Pizza

  1. alteredforhim

    Hi…cute cards and a really neat way to make syrup!

    Have a great day!

  2. These cards are great. The pizza one I liked a lot. That is because I LOVE pizza. The pancake looked delish. If I wouldn’t have read this I would have wanted to eat them. Then the snack would be the great ice cream cone. Good job on those cards. :0)

  3. Thanks, glad you like them. I think I’d be happy with either pancakes OR pizza! Both sound pretty good to me, and the ice cream cone looks good too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

