Goats and Giveaway Number Two!

Yes, this is the second time in four months that I’ve held a kid in my arms – kid as in a young goat.  I went over 50 years without holding any and now I’ve had the opportunity and pleasure two times.  Or three, since I held both Otis (above) and his brother Nana yesterday.

Rem and I went to visit a friend and see the newest members to his menagerie, 13-day-old twin baby goats.  We also saw their mama and two other adult goats, one donkey and two llama’s.

It was delightful to see these two kids bouncing around, exploring their world, playing with each other and butting heads with their elders.

They were the very definition of frolic: Play and move about cheerfully, excitedly, or energetically. What a great way to start the weekend!

Now how about another giveaway?

UPDATE: This giveaway is closed and winners have been picked and are being notified.  Thanks to all who participated!

This time I’m going to give a fused-plastic-bag zippered pouch (pictured above) and a fused-plastic-bag tote (pictured below- giveaway is for tote bag only, not the leash, dog treats, water bottle or tennis ball)! I will pick a winner for each item.  Check out my post on making fused-plastic-bag items here.

These items were made as part of my June 30 Days of Creativity project.

Here is how you enter the giveaway: In the comments section of this post, write down what project from the 30 Days of Creativity you might actually make yourself.  If you’ve already tried one (or more), put that too. All of the projects can be found in the archives under June.

You have until Wednesday, July 27 to enter.  To pick the winner, I will number the comments (omitting my responses and anyone who either doesn’t want to participate or doesn’t follow the rules) and randomly pick a number for the winner of each item with this nifty free random number generator.  I’ll send an email to the winners and they will have three days to respond.  If they don’t respond, I’ll pick another number. Once I have my winners, I will get their shipping address via email and send them the fabulous fused-plastic-bag items!  Good luck and feel free to share this with your friends.

I hope you’re having a good weekend.  Thanks for stopping by.

24 Comments

Filed under Life

24 responses to “Goats and Giveaway Number Two!

  1. I love giveaways! The project I plan on doing in the aquarium bead necklace project with the cool bottle cap charms. However, I want to try and do earrings instead of a necklace and use them as gifts. Thanks for all the creativity!

    • Hi, Lanna – I think aquarium tubing beads would make great earrings! If you make a pair, be sure and send me a picture! Thanks for the nice comments and good luck.

  2. There is nothing more fun than baby goats! Unless you come home to find ten of them out of their paddock and standing on top of your car. I love kids, so soft and sweet, so entertaining! Love the pictures!

  3. Olinda Gojkovich

    I’d like to try the Photo Cards from Day 27 and the Vegetable Printed Wrapping Paper from Day 29. I love giving gifts wrapped in unique paper. Thanks for all the great ideas, Dianne!

  4. Chris Gafford

    I loved the fused plastic purse. I grabbed my trash bags and ran in my Studio and started fusing.
    Great fun. I had to take a class to learn about Zippers.
    I had No Idea about Zippers. Now I do and I put one on a pillow I made.
    Thanks for the inspiration and the nudge towards those evil zippers.
    Chris

    • Good for you for conquering zippers! I wouldn’t have managed without my sister guiding me through (and doing much of) the sewing. I’m glad to know I inspired you and I wish you good luck!

  5. theambitiousnerd

    Hi Dianne,
    I read your article about fabric covered notebooks a while ago, and thought that it would make a wonderful unique design for when I go back to school in September. I have actually ordered the fusible web on Amazon, so I really should get started on the project. It’s nice of you to offer a giveaway!
    -Anna

  6. Hi Dianne,
    I have the end of a celery in the fridge ready to try out. I haven’t decided on a type of paint to apply to it yet. I want to print the ‘rose’ on newspaper or pages from old books.
    Love getting your creative prompts by subscription!
    Nicole

    • Great, Nicole! I loved how the end of the celery made such a beautiful rose-like design. Yes, a subscription is so nice because you don’t have to check back to see if I’ve written anything new, but just open the email and voila, there it is! Thanks.

  7. Pingback: I Wasn’t Born Yesterday | dianne faw

  8. Hi Diane~ I like the bottle cap necklaces. My daughter’s friend bought them at the mall a while back and I kept thinking I could make that! I also loved your steal your face embossed tin. Guess it’s the dead head in me. I must admit, my daughter & I tried the fused bags and for some reason they just didn’t work out for us. Not sure if maybe the iron wasn’t hot enough?

    • Hi, Tina – Hmmm…I don’t know why it the fused plastic bags didn’t work for you. Be sure and look at the great tutorial by Anda Lewis – there is a link in the post for June 26. If it wasn’t fusing together, I’d say it wasn’t hot enough. I hope you give it another try! But bottle cap necklaces are great fun and the aquarium tubing beads on that post are fun too. I also loved the embossed tins! Great projects all, Tina. Please let me know if you do try these or give the fused plastic another go. Good luck!

  9. I too loved the veggie stamped paper and even more so when I held it in my hands, even better in person! And its something I could pull off, I will however never make a fused plastic bag, which is why I need to win this giveaway! Please please please pick me! Love you!

    • Carson! Hey! If I were in Seattle, we could fuse some plastic bags…but without my sister and her sewing machine, we’d be stuck. So, go for some veggie stamping! It’s fun and very satisfying. And as for picking, well, I’ll be using my random number picker. However, the comments are low in number so your chances are quite good. I wish you luck, my friend!

  10. Maria

    Hi Dianne–
    I was totally fascinated by the fused plastic bags because
    a) I love bags, boxes and other things that can hold stuff.
    b) I’m not terribly crafty, but I can sew and have a zipper foot.
    c) I have about forty bagillion plastic bags in my laundry room.

    Pick ME!!

    • Hey, Maria – Wow, too bad you and me and your sewing machine with it’s zipper foot and your forty bagillion plastic bags aren’t near Carson in Seattle! Because we could all fuse some fabulous, awesome plastic and make some really cool pouches. But in the meantime, I wish you luck on the giveaway!

  11. waysideartist

    Naturally, I misread your post and thought I missed the deadline. I’m so glad you “Weren’t Born Yesterday,” and gave me a poke in the ribs. The plan is to make pickled carrot sticks. I have the ingredients gathered, but, also naturally, I need to experiment right off the bat (I run with scissors too!) So…I bought a bag of raw carrot slices cut like ridged potato chips. Will let you know how it comes out.

    Nanina

    • Oh, the pickled carrots cut like ridged potato chips! I bet those will be great! I snarfed down my jar and should make another batch. They actually ended up in Tupperware – I put them in jars for the photo but they weren’t really good jars. Anyway, they were very tasty and easy to make. Please do let me know how they come out. And good luck on the giveaway!

  12. Sharon Hamilton

    Hi Dianne,
    Of course I would love one of your fused bags, I just had to run off with my kids to Sonoma to meet friends. So, the ice cream, your 30th project is what I’d make. Any great recipes for rhubarb besides pie?

    • Hey, Sharon – You know, I’ve never cooked with rhubarb so I’m afraid I can’t help out there. You might check out Smitten Kitchen – I know I’ve seen some rhubarb recipes on her site. Good luck, you are the last entry before I pick my winners.

  13. Winners have been chosen and are being notified. Thanks to all of you who participated!

Leave a Reply

