We Can Do It!

This is my Halloween costume for 2011: Rosie the Riveter from the iconic WWII poster.  It really was a “‘We Can Do It!” costume for me: A creative friend was generous enough to put me into a poster of my own (yep, that’s me ON the poster).  My boss took the great picture above at work.  We had a fundraiser at work raising funds while having fun and this proved to be quite a fun costume.  Rosie is very well known.  I had folks calling “Rosie!” to me all day.

I love Halloween and enjoy coming up with costume ideas.  I like to really get into the details.  For Rosie I borrowed an Old Navy blue cotton shirt from my dad, similar to the one in the link.  My mom hemmed a piece of red polka-dot fabric for my head scarf.

A co-worker stitched a name badge for me and the friend that put together the fantastic poster also created my ID pin.  Rem took the photos used both in the ID pin and in the poster.  I added another pin with “Local 196” which is the union I’m in.  I was inspired by information, stories and photos I found at the Rosie the Riveter Trust website.  Rem and I have also visited the Rosie the Riveter Memorial in Richmond, CA, which is worth a stop if you are in the area.  The website is great too.

Thank you to all of you who contributed in some way to my creation and experience of Rosie for Halloween. We did it!

 

10 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Life

10 responses to “We Can Do It!

  1. Great eye for details. Looks like you had a great time.

    • I really did. For some reason the bright red lipstick surprised me whenever I caught my reflection. My parents dog didn’t recognize me until I was close enough for her to smell me. Funny Molly.

  2. I LOVE that iconic poster! What a great idea. 🙂 My parents met through my grandmothers. Both of my grandmothers went to work in the same factory during WWII. The war ended and neither grandmother wanted to go back to being a stay at home mom. I think there’s a little Rosie spirit in all of the ladies in our family, myself included.
    Have a great day!
    Juli

  3. Leah

    FANTASTIC! I’ve considered doing Rosie, too. If I ever need a quick costume I’m going to consider borrowing your handkerchief and I’ll bet I could make it work from there!

  4. Pingback: T is for Tiger, C is for Craft | dianne faw

  5. Pingback: Letting My Inner Goddess Out | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

