Punched Heart Garland with Vintage Paper

Here is a sweet and simple little garland you can make. I was inspired by something similar to this when I first got on Pinterest.   I started working on this garland without going back to look at the original inspiration and I’m happy with my version.  Now that I’ve looked at it again, I might craft another garland using a larger heart-shaped punch.

What I think makes this interesting is the paper.  Little rectangles of paper cut from, in this case, old books, old sheet music and an old magazine.  If I had an old dictionary I was willing to tear up I would have used pages from that.  Newsprint would work too.

A few days ago, Rem and I went shopping at a wonderful place called The East Bay Depot for Creative Reuse. They are, as their website says:

An ecological treasure trove of art & craft materials, educational supplies, vintage furniture, home décor, paper goods, fabric, and much more. Founded in 1979 by two Oakland public school teachers, the Depot promotes solid waste diversion and resource conservation through the Depot store and environmental education programs

The mission of the East Bay Depot is to divert waste materials from landfills by collecting and redistributing discarded goods as low-cost supplies for art, education, and social services in our Depot Store. The educational mission is to increase the awareness of school children and the general public regarding the green benefits of reusing materials.

I searched around and found a copy of Life magazine from 1963, a little pamphlet called The Revised Wine Cook Book with “favorite recipes of California Winemakers”, also from 1963, an Arithmetic Drill Book from 1924, a 1952 book of English Grammar Exercises called Brighter Grammar and a booklet of sheet music with the cover missing.

The pages in these old publications are a yellowed-ivory from age.  The different content gave me a nice variety of text, numbers and music for my garland.  My mom mentioned finding newspapers in the recycling bin at the Post Office recently when she was sending a package. She needed a little more packing material and found a Chinese-language newspaper.  I would have loved to include that in this project.

Garage sales, flea markets and thrift shops are all good resources for interesting old books.

A variation on this project that would also work well is double-sided printed paper with a Valentine’s Day theme.

Punched Heart Garland

Supplies:

Vintage Paper

Heart-Shaped Punch (mine is a little over 1/2 an inch across at the widest part)

Adhesive (I like Tombo Mono double-sided adhesive)

Baker’s Twine (I used Divine Twine)

Paper Trimmer or Scissors

(See our new giant red clock from IKEA?  I love it!)

Directions:

Cut out a bunch of rectangles.  Mine are 1.75  inches wide by 2.75 inches long. You will fold about 1/4 inch of paper over the string, so if there is a design or text you want at the top of your rectangle, keep that in mind.

Punch a heart approximately 1.5 inches from the bottom edge of each rectangle.

I like to see where the heart is going to be so I flip the punch over and look at the bottom so I can see exactly where I’m going to punch out the heart. (I just noticed the sticker on the bottom of my punch.  It says ” PLACE YOUR PUNCH ON DESKTOP TO OPERATE”.  Oh.)

Run some double-sided adhesive along the top edge of each rectangle.

Fold a quarter inch of paper with the adhesive over the baker’s twine. Finished length of each rectangle is 2.5 inches.

Leave about the width of one flag between each flag.  Repeat until you are out of flags or string or you decide your garland is long enough.

Now go find a place to hang this sweet and simple little garland.  Mine took the place of our string of Christmas cards as we slowly transition away from Christmas.  It would look lovely on a headboard, over a mirror or desk, or in a window.

Thanks for coming by.

8 Comments

Filed under Crafts

8 responses to “Punched Heart Garland with Vintage Paper

  1. Rem

    Great pictures!

  2. I am so glad you stopped by my place so that I could find out about yours. I am in love with these music sheet garlands. So clever. I WANT!

    • Thank you. They are pretty easy!

      I realize I spend to much lurking and don’t comment on other people’s blogs as often as I could. I know how much I love comments so I’m trying to say something when I stop by. You’ve got so much humor in so many of your desserts. Wonderful!

  3. Pingback: Heart Strings | dianne faw

  4. Pingback: Crayon Heart Valentines | dianne faw

  5. Pingback: Flag Pennants for Shade « czechthatout

  6. Pingback: Paper Heart Wreath | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

