Itty Bitty Cards

I’m terrible.  The last thing I need is more craft supplies.  But I saw these two tubs of little mini stamps at Joann and I couldn’t resist!

Each tub has 18 rubber stamps and a small stamp pad.  The stamp pad is pigment ink which isn’t my favorite – it is more painty than water-based dye ink and slower to dry.  But no worries, I have plenty of other stamp pads.  Plus loads of colored markers for coloring in these little images.

The stamps are only about 3/4 of an inch by 1 inch and the designs are sweet and whimsical.  “Hoppy Birthday” and “Bee Happy” are just two phrases that come to mind.

We just had Jean Steel, a wonderful speaker, as a guest presenter on the campus where I work and she spoke engagingly about choosing your attitude, having more fun, etc.  I went into the program with a bit of an eye-rolling skepticism but she won me over with her humor, personal stories, and her extremely positive attitude. Some of the things that really stood out for me during Jean’s speech  and ideas that I am working on including in my life are:

  • I choose my attitude – my attitude doesn’t have to match my circumstances
  • Share my gratitude (like with itty bitty cards)
  • Practice positive self-talk and affirmations (ooh, boy, I need to do more of this)
  • Keep flowers and/or plants on my desk or in my office
  • Offer assistance
  • Ask for help
  • Be respectful
  • Create kindness rituals (I love this idea)
  • Maintain a sense of humor
  • Practice self-care
  • Accept, value & appreciate differences

I decided these cute stamps would be perfect for making adorable mini-cards for my co-workers. Maybe I am just adept at finding the right reason for buying new crafting goodies, but  I have already cranked out a batch of cards and shared them with people at work to let them know I think they’re wonderful. I’m planning on keeping some of the stamps in my desk and I’m looking forward to making and sharing another bunch of cards.

It’s fun and fast making little cards.  I have some small envelopes and I measured card stock to fit inside.  It’s a great way to use up odds and ends of paper.

Did I mention fun?  They’re fun to make and from the feedback I’ve received they’re fun to receive.  I try not to underestimate how one small card might be just the thing to lift a friend’s spirits or give someone a smile.  I always benefit from some crafting time (or craft therapy as I like to call it) so it is really a win-win situation.

Thank you, Jean, for your wonderful presentation.

Thanks you, readers, for the visit – you’re awesome! 🙂

15 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Life

15 responses to “Itty Bitty Cards

  1. Tracy

    Very cute (I would expect nothing less, though).
    I’d like to know more about kindness rituals. Sounds interesting!

    • Hi, Tracy – Jean has commented, below, and also has info on her website about kindness rituals. I don’t know that rituals is maybe the best description, but more like practicing random acts of kindness. One she mentioned in her presentation is a bouquet of flowers in an office that gets moved from desk to desk.

  2. You may want to look into moreloveletters.com. That sounds like it would be right up your alley and those cards would be perfect to use! They really are adorable!

  3. How adorable! I can’t wait to make itty bitty cards. I have tons of tiny stamps and never seem to find a way to use them. This is perfect! And, cubbyholes, thanks for the lead on moreloveletters.com. My goal this year is to actually SEND the cards I make. I think expanding to include strangers would be a fun challenge.

    • Great goal, Anita, to send the cards you make. It made me smile because I do get caught up in the creating and sometimes slip up when it comes to the sharing! I also like the idea of moreloveletters.com and also as Jean suggests, leaving little notes of love and support for someone to find.

  4. I found rubber stamping when I first started working back in 1990. Most of my stamps were similar in size to these. I didn’t do little cards, which is a great idea!, but nothing left my desk without a post-it note stamped with one of my critters on it. Any request or thank you always had one of my stamps on it and I became known for it at the office. If I forgot, people would approach me asking if I was doing okay and was everything alright! :0) Passing on a little creativity and fun is always appreciated, keep it up!

    • Hi, Nickalli – I create cover sheets for interoffice mail envelopes using recycled envelopes. I always look for fun and cute clip art to put on the top rather than just “From” and “To”. I love your practice of stamped sticky notes. It’s a nice thing to be known for.

  5. Love the itty bitties! I have the christmas set and flower set of those stamps and I find myself using them all the time. It sounds like the presentation at convocation was quite inspiring, who would’ve guessed it?!

  6. Wow, what a treat reading this blog and then seeing that I am mentioned. Double woo hoo! 🙂

    Anita’s comment about strangers…..I am in a “Secret Agent” (random acts of kindness) group and one of our gals made little notes and hid them around the library at Cal Poly during finals week. What a nice treat for some stressed out, unsuspecting student. I read of another gal who put notes and a flowers on cars in front of her local oncology office. Last time I was in Ikea I bought a few dozen really cute vases for less than $1. I am going to put flowers in them and put them at the doors in one of the low income senior trailer parks. NOW I will add cute cards to them. Thanks!

    So many ideas.

    • I love the idea of a Secret Agent group out there practicing random acts of kindness. I think I’ll put some of my itty bitty cards around to be found. Great idea to pick up bargain vases and filling them and distributing them. Love it! Between Ikea, the Dollar Stores that seem to be all over and thrift stores I bet cheap vases would be easy to find. Yay!

  7. I have seen these stamps and have thus far resisted the urge. Looking at your cute cards just makes me want to jump in the car and go get ’em!
    I appreciate the sharing of your ideas.

  8. Pingback: Itty Bitty Valentines | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

