Crayon Heart Valentines

Crayon Hearts

When I first saw fat crayon hearts on Pinterest I pinned them to my “I Love This” board.  I love heart-shaped things (if you haven’t noticed yet) and these colorful, chubby hearts got my attention. I finally got around to making them just in time for Valentine’s Day.

Some of you may have broken old  crayons but I had to stock up.  I mentioned my shopping trip to The East Bay Depot for Creative Reuse in this post and I picked up a whole bunch of crayons there.  I used some of the crayons in this post.

I sliced the paper wrappers and peeled them off the crayons.

Update: Most of the crayons I used were Crayola, but some were other brands.  I’ve noticed that a few of the crayon hearts have places that don’t draw as well – they seem to have less pigment. I suspect it was the other crayons and I recommend sticking with Crayola or other quality crayons.

For awhile I just reveled in this wealth of crayon color.

Then I chopped them up.  I tried breaking them into pieces.  First with my fingers than in a plastic bag with a rolling pin.  But chopping worked out better.

For my molds I used heart-shaped ice cube trays from IKEA.  I sprayed them with non-stick spray.  I’ve seen Joann, Michael’s and Target all mentioned as good places to look for heart-shaped silicone molds.  The ones I used, as I mentioned, were not made for going in the oven, but they worked out fine for me.

Set the oven at 250 degrees.  Fill the molds with the bits of crayon.  I like them sorted by color family.

Set the mold on a baking sheet – I covered it with foil to guard against melted crayon.

Bake 12 to 15 minutes or until fully melted.  Different colors seemed to melt at different rates.

This was from a different batch…it was almost done but needed another minute or two.

Once they’re done, let them cool completely before popping them out of the molds.  They can be done in different shapes (mini muffin tins, for example) but the hearts are so darn cute!

If you want to give them as gifts they look great in small cellophane bags, tied with a bow.

I am giving them as Valentines so I decided to stick them on paint chips as a background. I used Zots clear adhesive dots (an old package – I think the label is different now), two on the back of each crayon heart, to stick the heart to a paint chip. If your hearts have a nice, flat bottom, you can probably do it with just one.

Here is a tip if you haven’t used adhesive dots before: press the item on to the adhesive dot, then peel it off the backing.  Don’t try and peel the dot off and put it on your item. It will just get gummed up on your fingers and annoy you.

I really liked the idea of the colors in the crayon and the the color names on the paint chips.  I cut the standard paint chip strips into two-color blocks.  I also found some really wide paint chips and cut those into heart shapes.

I used Sharpies to write my greeting: “Wishing you a colorful Valentine’s Day!”  For a few of them I wrote “Valentine – You color my life!

I put the  finished Valentines  into cellophane bags.

Using more paint chips, I punched hearts for tags  and stuck the tags to the to the back of each package with Valentine stickers.

Don’t you love the color names?

I signed the back of the tags since my packaging is clear and each heart tag shows through to the front of the bag.  Choosing different colors for the Valentine and for the tag made each package more colorful.

Front:

Back:

A box left from Christmas was just the right size for holding the Valentines and I had fun decorating it with stickers.

I’ve accumulated quite a bit of heart-shaped embellishments over the years and what better time to use them?

Thanks for the stopping by.

22 Comments

Filed under Crafts

22 responses to “Crayon Heart Valentines

  1. Great project Dianne! I love the colorful pictures and the super cute presentation with the with paint chips. Just bummed I won’t be getting one in my bottom right box. Oh, I also love how you threw caution to the wind and baked that Ikea mold, you go!

  2. Pingback: Crayon Heart Valentines | dianne faw « Welcome!

  3. Tracy Evans

    That’s so much better than melting the crayons and pouring into the mold, which I did some years ago. I so love the smell of crayons; this makes we want to make some!

    • Oh, yeah, Tracy. I think this would be much easier, safer and more satifsying than melting crayons and pouring crayons into molds. I’m trying to figure out if I can make one more batch before next Tuesday with the time and crayons I have left.

  4. This is darling and genius; I love both heart shapes and crayons. Plus thanks for the The East Bay Depot for Creative Reuse tip. Next time I am up there…..

  5. Such a cool idea and so cute. I ❤ hearts. I am doing a “12 Days of Valentines” project you might enjoy! http://dslrfairytale.com/

  6. This is great. Good Job. you are so creative!

    • Thanks, Beckyyk! It was pretty fun and I love the chunky heart-shaped crayons that are created. I will agree that I’m creative but I’m also clever about looking at other blogs and getting ideas and making them my own.

  7. Jean Riutta

    You are a crafting genius! Have I told you lately, that I love you…and your crafty brain!

    • Wow, thanks Jean! I love being loved for my crafty brain. When my joints are stiff and rusty and I’m wrinkled and saggy, my crafty brain will still be zipping around thinking of things to try. Hey, my joints are already stiff, I’m wrinkled and let’s not even talk about saggy. But I’m still one crafty-brained Babe!

  8. Margaret

    These are adorable! I thought it was hysterical you used that Christmas box (that I gave you) to hold your creations — glad you found a use for it.

  9. Wayside Artist

    Another brilliant project. This one looks like a lot of fun. Dianne you have to help me make the days last longer so I can try all your cool crafts!

    • Ummm… the only thing I can think of involves not going to work but I don’t like the side effect of not getting a paycheck. If I think of a way to help stretch time, I will let you know. Thanks for the nice remarks. This was a fun one for me!

  10. Mary

    So glad I found your blog! I was just about to try the Ikea mold for this project hoping it wouldn’t melt right along with the crayons in my oven! I followed your directions and it they came out just fine! Thank you!

  11. Pingback: Chocolate Nutella Fudge & Truffles | dianne faw

  12. So cool!! Thanks for sharing your project! ❤

Leave a Reply

