Itty Bitty Valentine’s

Here is a really cute little Valentine that is a combination of three recent projects.  It also highlights how helpful it is to have the right tools for your job: I used my paper trimmer, two sizes of heart-shaped punches, two kinds of adhesive, and a stapler.

Start with little cards like these in Itty Bitty Cards.  I have a Fiskars paper trimmer and I use it all the time.  These little cards are 6.5 inches (score and fold at 3.25 inch mark) by 2 1/8 inches. I’ve got little envelopes that they will fit in.  Of course any I want to mail will have to go into larger envelopes.  But putting the small envelope inside a larger envelope is an option.

Cut a mat out of colored card stock to layer on the front of the card, in this case, the blue piece,  (but don’t glue it on yet).  These are 2.5 inches by 1 7/8 inches.

Add hearts punched from vintage sheet music like the ones in Heart Strings.  My large heart punch makes a heart that is about 1 5/8  inches across.  Because the paper is fragile I use a glue pen or glue stick for adhering the heart to the mat.  My go-to Tombo double-sided adhesive would just tear the sheet music.

Next comes two smaller, layered, hearts punched from pretty paper.  This smaller heart is about 1 1/8 inch across.

Glue one small heart onto the larger sheet music heart (this is where I use my Tombo adhesive).

Now score and fold the second, matching heart in half and staple it on top of the first one like on the Fluttering Hearts Valentine Cards.

Finally adhere the mat with the hearts on to the front of your little card.

Finish up with your initials or signature on the back of the card and a greeting on the inside.

I usually do these in batches so I cut a bunch of cards, then cut a bunch of the mats, then punch hearts, etc. and assemble.

The best part?  Giving the cards out.

Thank you for coming on by.

7 Comments

Filed under Crafts

7 responses to “Itty Bitty Valentine’s

  1. The vintage sheet music really makes these itty bitties pop. Nice work Dianne!

  2. Wonderful little cards. Very colorful.

  3. Wayside Artist

    These are cute! I love seeing them in batches – very festive 🙂

  4. Thank you for the inspiration and stiring up the romantic side of us all.

Leave a Reply

