Breakfast Frittata

I like eggs for breakfast and I choose to eat egg whites more often than whole eggs because I think they’re healthier. To make the egg whites more interesting I usually scramble them up with some vegetables and usually a little cheese.  A few weeks ago I got the idea that if I made a frittata on Sunday, it would take care of making the main part of my breakfast for the whole week!

The following recipe is very flexible.  I saute some veggies including some dark, leafy greens like arugula or chard, I beat one egg together with some egg whites, throw in a little feta cheese (loaded with flavor so I don’t need a lot), add some diced up veggie sausage patties, pour it into a baking dish and bake.

Breakfast Frittata

Ingredients

1 large egg

1 cup egg whites

paprika

herbs, such as basil, oregano and/or thyme

black pepper to taste  (with the feta and veggie sausages I don’t find this needs any additional salt)

nonstick spray

5 to 7 mushrooms (If you don’t like mushrooms, use some zucchini), cut in thick slices

2 or 3 green onion, cut in thin slices

1 or 2 stalks of celery (optional but good – fennel is also good), diced

2 to 3 cups chopped greens or green vegetables (I like arugula, chard, spinach, kale and even broccolini)

1/4 to 1/2 red bell pepper, diced

1 oz. feta cheese, crumbled

2 veggie sausage patties, (I like both Morningstar Farms and Trader Joe’s brands), defrosted in microwave and diced

Directions:

Turn oven on to 400 degrees.

In a medium mixing bowl combine the whole egg with the egg whites.

Add a good sprinkle of paprika  and a big pinch of dried herbs (I like thyme), and a grind or two of black pepper, and whisk together.  Set aside.

Spray a large saute pan with nonstick spray and add the sliced mushrooms and cook on medium high heat.

Once they start to brown, add in the green onions and celery if you are using it (for the frittata in the photos I was using fennel), and saute another minute or two.

Add your chopped greens to the pan and cook it enough to wilt them a bit.  Stir in the diced red pepper and cook another minute.  Remove from heat.

Stir the cooked vegetables into the beaten egg mixture.  Stir in the crumbled feta cheese and diced vegetable sausage.

Spray a baking dish with nonstick spray.  I use an oval glass dish that is about 7.5 inches by 10.5 inches on the bottom.

Pour the egg -vegetables mixture into the baking dish.

Bake until puffy and set, about 18 minutes.

Remove from oven and let cool a few minutes before cutting into 6 portions.

Enjoy with whole wheat toast and fresh fruit.

Heat one portion for 50 seconds in the microwave for a really fast, healthy and easy breakfast.

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking

4 responses to “Breakfast Frittata

  1. Looks delicious! I love the idea of cooking on Sunday for the whole week. But I want to know if it makes you any more on time for work.

  2. eileen

    You’re killin me! Yum.

Leave a Reply

