Day 12: String Jar

This nifty string jar has a jumbo eyelet in the lid so the string is easy to use, stays clean (it tended to get linty in the craft drawer) and it looks cute on your craft desk or shelf.  I am pleased to finally do a project that follows the theme for the day on the 30DoC calendar.  I saw it here in a blog written by Cathe Holden of Just Something I Made.  Her site is loaded with great ideas, lots of DIY, and beautiful vintage stuff.  Oh, and lots of freebies too, so check it out!

I used a Mason jar from Kerr and the jumbo eyelet (1/2 inch) is from Stampin’ Up, but I’m not sure if they are in the current catalog.  I’ve seen them in craft and fabric stores and a smaller size will work too.

I used my Crop-a-Dile Big Bite to punch the hole in the lid and to set the eyelet.  Cathe used an eyelet kit you can get at the fabric store, plus a hammer and nail.  I’m probably not the only one who has a fancy tool she hardly ever uses, but if you don’t have a Crop-A-Dile tool, you can get an eyelet kit. Then punch the hole using a nail with a block of wood behind it.  Push the nail through the hole to enlarge it enough for the eyelet to fit.  Put the eyelet in the hole so the back of the eyelet is on the bottom of the lid, use the eyelet tool and hammer to spread open and flatten the back.

I have Aluminum Duct Tape that I used in several projects last year during 30DoC and it was great for a label on my jar. I punched out the label shape, stamped on it using StazOn Ink, (great for non-porous surfaces), let the ink dry, peeled the backing off the tape and put it on the jar.  A Sharpie would work too, and a paper label would be great.  Or no label.

I made a Needle Felted Placemat last year on Day 12.

I hope you are enjoying 30 Days of Creativity, thanks for stopping by.

8 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

8 responses to “Day 12: String Jar

  1. You’re so full of good ideas! 🙂

    • Thank you – I wish I could take credit for them all being original but I will take credit for finding good ones and sharing them! Thanks for the great comments – I love the support.

  2. Leah

    I can imagine doing this with a row of plastic or cardboard tubes/containers and then mounting them (via screws on the bottom of the tube/container) on a vertical board over a work space. Like those wall-mounted spice containers – something sort of like this, but maybe only one row: http://compare.ebay.com/like/150823662148?var=lv&ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar&_lwgsi=y&cbt=y

    • Nice! I also followed the link back from the one I copied and they used a big sugar jar, like from a diner, and had the string come through the little pour flap! I don’t have a jar like that but it was durn cute!

  3. Pingback: Scorecard for 30DoC | dianne faw

  4. Pingback: Day 12: Hand Made | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

