Day 25: DIY Blue Glass Jars

Image

I’m a Pisces.  I like water and colors of the ocean.

I saw colored or tinted glass jars and put them on my 30 Days of Creativity “To Do” list.  I saw them on Momtastic and also on Homework.

I wanted to make color me some  blue jars.  First step: collect jars.

I saved some at home, took some out of mom’s recycling bin and picked up a few more at the East Bay Depot for Creative Reuse.  I also picked up a fried chicken sandwich and lemonade slushy at Bakesale Betty’s. Oh, my!  If you go to one, don’t miss the other.

Rem, my hero, used some elbow grease, Goo Gone and love to get the labels and glue off the jars today.  What a nice surprise and big time saver.  Thank you.

One the jars are clean and dry, mix up three or so tablespoons of Mod Podge, (I was using the Satin finish), and about a tablespoon of water. Add food coloring: I used a combination of Neon and Regular food color.  In fact, I went to Not Martha‘s post on dying eggs to follow her blue recipe: 6 drops neon blue and one of regular blue.  Just the food color, not the vinegar!

Stir those together in the first jar you want to tint.  I used a chopstick to stir the mixture.

You want a fairly rich, opaque color.  Once it has dried it will be translucent and much lighter .

This is a good time to turn the oven on to 300 degrees.

Tip the jar around to coat the inside of the glass with the colored Mod Podge.  For the best effect, the mixture should be thick enough to coat the inside and be fairly opaque.  I did a few with a thinner mixture but by the time I was done the color on those ones was very sheer.  A pair of gloves would help to protect your fingertips from being dyed blue.  I rarely use gloves which is why my finger tips are stained blue.

Pour the excess Mod Podge into another jar and set the coated one upside down on some newspaper, paper towel or (as I saw suggested) wax paper.  Tip the next jar around in the same manner, coating the inside.  Continue with all the jar you want to color.

I moved the draining jars a few times and wiped off the edge that was face down.

You can see on the two jars in the picture above one had more color and more Mod Podge.  Once it is dry it looks very different.  The one on the right was very subtle when it was done.

Once you’ve finished all the jars, pour any excess Mod Podge down the drain with some water.

Put a sheet of parchment paper on a baking sheet and arrange the jars upside down on the parchment paper. Put jars on baking sheet into the oven.  I had to move a shelf to fit the jars and even then the tallest one had to lie on it’s side.

Bake for about 15 minutes.  I had some excess Mod Podge on the parchment paper and needed to use a scrubby sponge to get it off the rims of the jars. If inside of jars seem wet or even damp, bake for 10 more minutes.  The finished color shouldn’t look white or milky, if so, it needs more time in the oven.

After jars are cool you can take your thumbnail or a damp scrubby sponge and start working on that excess gunk around the edge.  A few also had stuff that stuck on the inside of the jar at the bottom, like this one:

I decided to ignore it.

This project was better suited to an afternoon with more time, but it wasn’t really difficult.  One of the jars has a long drip down the inside and two that that had a thinner, lighter coast of color will probably get a second coat.  Or I’ll saok it and start over. Some day. AFTER 30DoC!

I think they will look even better in the sunlight, but I’m very happy with the results.  The color is very watery and speaks to the fish in me. Now that I’ve done it once I have a better idea of what works and what doesn’t.  Tall, narrow jars are kind of tricky.  A small brush helps distribute the Mod Podge on jars with embossed details.

These are decorative and not meant to hold water as the Mod Podge is water soluble.  They look beautiful empty or with a candle inside.

Pickled Carrot Sticks were my project last year on Day 25.  They were delicious.

As always, thank you so much for coming by!

5 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

5 responses to “Day 25: DIY Blue Glass Jars

  1. I bet these would be pretty done in a deep purple, too.

    • I have more jars and I think I’ll play with more colors. I have a collection of deep blue glass with a few interesting old brown jars thrown in. But deep purple sounds beautiful. When I finish the 30DoC project (and take a break), I’ll be writing about which projects I want to spend more time with and this is one of them.

  2. Pingback: Scorecard for 30DoC | dianne faw

  3. Pingback: Day 25: Bird Collage | dianne faw

  4. Pingback: Happy Anniversary! | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

