Plum Crumble, Groundspeak and a Troll

On the last weekend of our vacation, we stayed in the guest cottage of friends, Liz and Ted.

This is in the backyard and in the front yard, they have a plum tree.  Full of plums.

The cat from next door watched me taking pictures while Ted picked plums.

I’m pretty sure these are Italian Prune Plums.

Before we get to the recipe for Plum Crumble, I want to share a few more pictures from Seattle…

We visited Groundspeak, kind of like Mecca for geocachers.  The mother lode of all caches is in their lobby – there is a trunk full of goodies.

When you go, you have the opportunity to meet some of the staff as well as other cachers.  There was a large group of kids who were avid geocachers, happily sorting through the trunk.

We left Groundspeak and set out for some outdoor play using location-based technology (aka a geocache).

We didn’t find the cache, but we did find this.

Or should I say him? The Fremont Troll.

This giant troll (that’s a full-sized VW bug in his hand) lives under a bridge near the Groundspeak headquarters.

We survived our visit to the troll which was a good thing because it was our first night with Ted and Liz.  We settled into our cottage. Ted made a delicious surf and turf dinner with both salmon and steak.

The next day, walking with Liz, we talked plums.

I was making dinner that night and a plum dessert seemed like a good bet.  Our main dish was That Pasta (of course) and for dessert, this Plum Crumble.

Plum Crumble

Adapted from Diana Rattrey on About.com

Ingredients:

3 lbs. fresh plums, pitted & quartered, about 5 cups

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 cup sifted all-purpose flour

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 large egg, beaten

1/2 cup cold butter (1 stick), cut into small pieces

Directions:

Set oven to 375 degrees.

Combine plums and brown sugar.  When I made it, I didn’t have brown sugar so I used white sugar with a drizzle of maple syrup.

Put the plums in a buttered 11 x 7.5 inch baking dish.

Stir together flour, white sugar, salt, cinnamon and add the beaten egg, stirring until crumbly.

Using a fork, two table knives or just your fingers, cut or rub the pieces of butter into the flour and sugar mixture.

Sprinkle over the plums.

Bake 40 to 45 minutes.

This is delicious served with vanilla ice cream.  I haven’t had it with whipped cream, but I’m sure that would be good too.

The original recipe called for melting the butter and drizzling it over the dry flour and sugar mixture that had been sprinkled over the plums. I preferred this method, combining the cold butter with the mixture, but you could try the other method if you prefer.

This was such a hit the night I made it that the next morning Ted was out picking more plums and we made an even bigger recipe the following night.

The same recipe would work well with apples in place of plums and either would be a great addition to a Thanksgiving dessert menu.

Thanks for coming by.

9 Comments

Filed under Cooking

9 responses to “Plum Crumble, Groundspeak and a Troll

  1. Kathleen Faw

    I read a fantasy book recently that incorporates that troll. I just didn’t know there was a real troll there, thought the author had made it up. It was nice to see the photo.

  2. well…you got me a plum cobbler…never have had it…could I use canned plums?…I know it wouldn’t be as good…but, I doubt if I can find the fresh…My mouth is actually drooling…mkg

    • Hi, Marilyn –

      I have’t used canned plums but first let me suggest looking for pluots in the store because I’ve still seen pluots and they’d be a great substitute. I think canned plums would be sweetened (so omit the brown sugar) and pretty soft, (so cook for a shorter time).

      Apple crumble would also be delicous and apples should be in good supply. I’ve made Apple Crisp in the past that aren’t that different than this but for the egg in the topping. It’s pretty yummy!

      I’d like to hear if you make it.

      Dianne

  3. Pingback: Art from the Heart 2013 | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

