More Valentines Inspired By…

Work has been particularly busy lately so my craft time is all the more precious to me.  I’m tired at the end of long work days and I’m not getting to crafting after work and having to fit it into a busy weekend.  I know – what else is new, eh?  My valentine supplies have been calling to me so it was nice to spend a few hours on Sunday making cards.

The one below was inspired by a card made by my friend Carson.

Carson Card

I had seen it (and pinned it) on Pinterest but you can see it here on her lovely blog Pine & Plum.  Pine & Plum may be familiar to readers who knew it as Blue Button Press before a recent makeover.  Take a look – it has “the plum paper goods you’ve been pining for”, with beautiful cards, lots of tutorials, links to great craft supplies and a shop in case you’d rather buy than DIY.

Carson is creative and uses scrumptious paper to create not only cards but banners, place cards, and other goodies for weddings and special events.  We used to craft (and work) together and though I miss her, I’m glad to have this link.  I love her original card and when I make another one I’ll be more careful about the size of the tag compared to the little banners behind it.

Here is another take on this card from Kristina of K Werner Design Blog.  My greeting was stamped a bit crookedly, but this is homemade, folks, not Hallmark! When I just went to her site I found another adorable card.  Stop by her blog and see what she’s up to.

Buttons w/ Punched Heart

Here is a card inspired by this Pinterest winner made by Christi of Christi’s Creative Crew.

Scattered Hearts

The x’s and o’s are embossed in gold which doesn’t really show in this photo.  It’s a pretty fast card using pretty paper and heart punches.  I cut a few hearts freehand to have more variety in the sizes.

I picked up some tiny clothespins at Paper Source and love how they look as embellishments.  The downside: they don’t do well in an envelope in the mail.  I was inspired by this card on Pinterest by Susan at Rainy Day Creations.  Wow – every blog I go to has more great cards!

Clothespinned Heart

Here are a few more cards I did with the little clothespins.  I also used the paper-strip-heart technique that you can find here.

XOX

3 Hearts on the Line

xoxo

Even without special greeting stamps, you can use an alphabet set to stamp x’s and o’s.

And even if you don’t have little clothespins, you can still do a sweet and simple card with a clothesline idea.  Punched hearts and a pen to sketch in the line – easy.  I saw this one on …where else? Pinterest, of course. It is from Silly’s Paper Design.  The site is in German but the photos are inspiration enough.

LIttle Heart Clothesline

Here are a few more of the valentines I’ll be giving this year.  I hope you find them inspiring!  It was very satisfying making some of the many beautiful cards I see and pin on Pinterest.

love & hugs tag

A shipping tag, washi tape banners, a bit of lace doily, a gold embossed greeting, a little heart-shaped button with some turquoise thread, Bakers twine and a butterfly sticker to finish it off.

Folded over Front

This card uses a piece of patterned paper folded with just a small piece to the front with a piece of heavy cream card stock tucked in to form the front of the card.  The original was stitched on a sewing machine, but I stapled mine on the left after using a little glue first to adhere the cream piece to the patterned piece.  A paper-strip-heart stuck on glue dots with a simple gold embossed greeting finished with Dianne dots – three small dots punched with a small hole-punch and glued as an accent using a glue pen and the card is done.

Embossed heart love

A simple pink card with a beautiful heart punched from pretty paper set on glue dots is set off with a silver embossed greeting and a small dry-embossed heart.

Key Tag

An ornate stamped key from Paper Source embossed in gold and silver on a heavy cream tag is below a little dry-embossed heart.  A little Baker’s Twine bow on the tag finishes this card.

I couldn’t resist this shopping bag I found in the check stand at Safeway.  Now I have something to carry my valentines in.

Valentine Shopping Bag

Thank you for the visit.

4 Comments

Filed under Crafts

4 responses to “More Valentines Inspired By…

  1. The little clothespins do add such a cute dimension…the 4th one down that just says love…is very pretty!

  2. Thanks! That is a favorite stamp of mine – it’s from a Stampin’ Up set and I use it a lot.

  3. craft fear

    Those are simply adorable! Love that embossed key.

  4. Pingback: love & hugs | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

