Ombré Easter Eggs

Five Ombre Eggs

I remember dying eggs as a kid.  The kitchen table covered with newspaper and cups of water bright with food coloring and pungent with vinegar.  I’m one of 6 kids and we each got to dye a dozen eggs.  Someone was sure to leave one egg in a dye bath extra long to get it really saturated but hogging that color.  We would sometimes try dipping it partway into one color or halfway down into a cup, holding it with those little wire egg holders that came with the dying kits, or, more typically, with a soup spoon.

This year I remembered this Pinterest picture that showed eggs dyed with gradations of color and the helpful directions to “slowly add more water until eggs are covered”.  Aha!  What a great idea!

First I needed to hard boil some eggs.

Hardboiling Eggs

Next I mixed up cups of dye, but used only a small amount of the water called for.  I should have started with less because once you put an egg in the cup of dye, the dye bath is displaced.  It went further up the eggs than I planned, but I continued with the project.

For color recipes, you can use the ones from my Crack-Me Candy Filled Easter Eggs post here (using drops of regular and neon food coloring), which I got off of the marvelous Not Martha blog, or use recipes on the food coloring package or your own combinations.  What you want to keep in mind is to use just a few tablespoons of water for the first round of color.

About a teaspoon or so of vinegar goes into each cup, than the food coloring (I labeled the cups to help keep track of which cup to put which colors in), than that little splash of just-boiled water.

Dye Cups

I suggest using a spoon to help lower the eggs gently into their various colored baths.  I tried to get them more-or-less standing up in the cups, but that wasn’t always successful.  Let them sit in the dye for 5 minutes.

Here is another helpful tip: don’t go start checking Facebook.  Because you want the different shades of color to show and be distinctive.  In other words, don’t do what I did.

Deeper in Dye

When you remember get back to the eggs, all you have to do now is add a few more tablespoons of water and wait 5 more minutes and repeat until the eggs are covered and fully dyed.  In fact, the last round, for better contrast, could be even shorter so it is really light.

Underdye

Use your handy spoon (or your already-blue-dyed fingers) and remove the eggs from the dye.  Blot gently with paper towel.  That’s it!

Blue & Green Eggs

Purple, pink & orange eggs

I’m very pleased with the results but if I were to do it again, I would try to:

  • Cook the eggs the day before so that step is done
  • Use a very small amount of water for the first round of dying
  • Watch the time carefully
  • Take the eggs out after only a few minutes after the final round of dying

Dye cups in sink

Oh – having a dishwasher is a good idea too.  Mine was watching a video and really, my fingers were already blue so I needed to get them soapy.

Rooster with Eggs

Thanks for the visit!

11 Comments

Filed under Crafts

11 responses to “Ombré Easter Eggs

  1. beautiful, I love how they turned out! hum! I might try this; ombre eggs! 🙂

  2. Great photos…I’ve done this accidently when there was not enough water covering the eggs in the cups…but, will put on my list to try…I’m a simple gal and I liked their look…

  3. Very pretty! Brings me back to when I was a kid. 🙂

  4. michelle barrett

    Oooooh, those are very pretty!

Leave a Reply

