What I Ate In One Week, Part I

There was something about getting my craft desk clean and organized last week that helped me get organized in other areas of my life.  I’ve been trying to be better about weighing and logging my food because it helps me to stick to healthier choices when I eat.

I decided to take a photo of everything I ate in one week and post it here.  I started on Monday morning, April 8.

Breakfast: Kale, mushrooms & egg white scramble with toasted Pane Siciliano.  Tangerine & raspberries.

Breakfast Monday

Morning snack: Cherry tomatoes.

Cherry Tomatoes - snack

Lunch: Black bean soup, with yogurt, lime & cilantro, Ry Krisp crackers, red cabbage & fennel slaw.

Monday lunch

Afternoon snack: cucumber and celery sticks.

Cucumber & celery

Dinner: Chicken breast, brown rice with lemon zest/rosemary olive oil, and asparagus with mushrooms.

Monday dinner

Dessert: jelly beans!

Jelly Beans

Tuesday breakfast: Oatmeal with apple, dates & cinnamon.

Tuesday Breakfast

Snack: Greek yogurt with blueberries.

Yogurt & berries

Lunch: Leftover chicken, brown rice, asparagus & mushrooms + edamame and a side of celery sticks.

Green lunch

After lunch: Ginger Mints.

Ginger Mints

Afternoon snack: roast parsnips and carrots with orange glaze.

Parsnips & Carrots

Dinner: Fried tofu, rice noodles, chard and mushrooms with soy/cilantro/sesame oil & honey.

Tuesday Dinner

Dessert: Chocolate covered almonds.

Aw, nuts!

Wednesday breakfast: Fresh juice.  Carrot, sweet potato, apple, orange, celery, beet, tangerine, lime & ginger.

Juice stuff

Rosy Juice

Snack: Apple, Ry Krisp crackers & babybel cheese.

Apple & cheese

Lunch: Panzanella – bread salad with leftover Pane Siciliano, butter lettuce, tomato, cumber, edamame, and cilantro in a vinaigrette, topped with leftover chicken.

Panzanella

Afternoon snack: banana & peanuts.

Banana & peanuts

After work, another snack (cold, in front of the fridge): leftover orange glazed parsnips & carrots.

Orange glazed veggies

Dinner: Tasty frozen dinner from Trader Joe’s – cod, rice & ratatouille.

Fish Dish

Dessert: Chocolate covered sunflower seeds.

Seeds

Thursday breakfast: Banana dog (whole grain tortilla spread with peanut butter, wrapped around a banana) with a tangerine.

Banana Dog

Snack: Carrot sticks and edamame.

Green & Orange

Unplanned snack from the office stash: peanuts.

Peanuts

Lunch: Black bean soup, yogurt & cilantro and green salad.

Bean soup again

Afternoon snack: Light graham crackers and dark chocolate with raisins & pecans.

One more thing

Dinner: Chicken breast with yogurt and green tomato chutney, rice medley, cherry tomatoes and sauteed kale

Chicken 'n chutney

Dessert: I crave something warm and sweet and make a single serving apple muffin-in-a-mug in the microwave.

Muffin in a mug

Apple Muffin

Coming soon: What I Ate In One Week, Part II.

Thanks for the visit.

11 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Life

11 responses to “What I Ate In One Week, Part I

  1. violetannie63

    Yum! I want what you’re having! 🙂

  2. Julie

    I’m impressed! Very healthy and looks good!

  3. Sharon

    Diane,
    My mouth is watering right now. Wish you were my personal chef!

  4. haven’t had black bean soup since I was little…will have to try soon…Some interesting dishes…but, looks good …and healthy!

    • It’s yummy – and I enjoyed it with the dollop of Greek yogurt. Although, I have to be honest, I would have enjoyed sour cream even more!

      • oh no…I was going to use sour cream…
        and I think I still will…maybe low fat or fat free…

      • Glad your DIL’s mom liked my blog 🙂 That is always nice to hear. As for sour cream…I actually prefer the Greek yogure over the nonfat sour cream but the good sour cream, you know, the full fat yummy kind? I love that. My tendency is to spoon several bites into my mouth for one I dollop onto the bean soup or potato or whatever. But if you have better willpower and can keep it around without scarfing it down, than good for you! The low fat sour cream isn’t bad.

      • I’m defiinitely getting or making the black bean soup…

  5. Pingback: Three Years of Blogging | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

