Show and Tell Cards II

checked overalls on the line

I’ve spent some time recently on two special cards.  If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, this first card will look familiar.  It is a clothesline with cute little paper clothes hanging out to dry.  The first time I made a card like this it was for a colleague and his wife, honoring the birth of their son, born on Mother’s Day two years ago.

Well, that two-year-old boy has a little sister.  I decided to use the same design for this card, honoring her arrival on the first day of spring.

Onesie and Bib

Her dad is an aquarium aficionado (or should I say a-fish-ionando?) so I decided to give her a “got fish” onesie.  Cherry-print paper was perfect for a little bib.

got fish?

When he was younger he worked at the San Francisco Zoo.   I thought little cargo pants looked cute with the zoo t-shirt.

SF Zoo T-shirt

Polka-dot footie pajamas’s and a pink flowered Hawaiian shirt.

Footie PJ's

I indulged in a flowered skirt, pastel sweater and matching booties.

Flowered Skirt & Cardi

On the little baby sweater I added a small, self-adhesive jewel.  Other buttons are either paper dots or just drawn on with a pen, but I added dimensional glaze to make them stand out a bit.  Other details are drawn on with silver or black pen.

I used to have a cloud template that went out when I did my big craft clean-up last year.  I made a new one using the lid from a tub of cottage cheese.

Cloud Template

Using the top one – the cloud-shaped hole, I sponged white craft ink onto the background.  I then used the bottom one, the cloud shape, and sponged blue ink over the white, to create a pretty, sky effect.

The posts for the clothesline are cut from wood-grained paper and the line is bakers twine.  The clothes are adhered on pop-up foam dots so they look like they’re hanging from the line.  Small folded bits of brown paper serve as clothespins.

Inside of clothesline card

I made one more little paper garment for the back of the card: a pair of overalls.  I found this piece of blue, patterned paper and it looked like fabric.  I used silver ink to make the buttons and buckles and orange ink for the stitching.

Denim overalls

Last week I completed a different card, one I struggled with.  It was a sympathy card for someone I’m close to who had lost their mother.  How could I assemble something out of paper, ink  and glue that could speak to their loss?

Patchwork Squares Sympathy Card

I tried to think what words would be of comfort and read through cards I had received after my dad died.  I experimented with different designs but resorted to a simple tried-and-true scheme.

Of course I realized that connecting was what was important.  As I looked through my paper, I thought about my friend and thought about what she might be feeling.   I wrote a brief message and signed it.

A sympathy card and a new baby card.  One took extra effort for the small embellishments and details, while the other took an emotional output.

Heart Overalls

As always, I appreciate the visit.

10 Comments

Filed under Crafts

10 responses to “Show and Tell Cards II

  1. violetannie63

    Love these – they are so cute! 🙂

  2. I know the time spent in doing these…and you were lost in thought the whole process…of these friends…The details are outstanding…but, that’s what makes them so special and keepsakes!

  3. These cards are wonderful! Your cards are always a reflection of the thought and care you feel for the people you care about, in addition to being beautifully done! Great post.

  4. Thanks you, Lisa. I really do try and put myself into the cards I make and I’m all about the details. Thank you for your lovely comments!

  5. oh! these are so cute! I really like them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

