Strawberry Shortcake with Sweet Yogurt-Cream

Strawberries

When I was walking through the Farmer’s Market on Sunday, I passed a stand and was drawn by the sweet scent of strawberries.  Just what I needed to try the recipe I saw on The Pioneer Woman, Mixed Berry Shortcake, except I was going with an all-strawberry version.

But first I want to show you the adorable apricots I got.

Apricots & Strawberries

These strawberries are pretty big but I don’t think I’ve ever had apricots this tiny! I could have made Strawberry Apricot Shortcake if I hadn’t eaten all the apricots.  They were so sweet and wonderful, I couldn’t resist eating them unadorned.

Apricots

But today I’m telling you about a yummy Strawberry Shortcake recipe.  It would make a wonderful Mother’s Day dessert.  The only thing is that though  the biscuits were good in the recipe at The Pioneer Woman, I love the Buttermilk Biscuits from Smitten Kitchen even more.

This is a combination of those two recipes, adapted (barely) because I hardly ever use unsalted butter unless I buy it specially, so I made the biscuits with salted butter.   I also found the ratio of biscuit-to-topping in The Pioneer Woman recipe was not as generous as I like. Using the Smitten Kitchen recipe yields fewer biscuits which is more in balance with how I loaded them up with strawberries and Sweet Yogurt-Cream.

This Sweet Yogurt-Cream is what really knocked my socks off.  It doesn’t whip up as stiff as whipped cream but it is silky, rich, but not quite as rich as full whipped cream, tangy and sweet and seems healthy because, for heaven’s sake, it has yogurt in it! Rem said it reminded him of cheesecake when he tasted the whole dessert.  Even if you want to skip the buttermilk biscuits and slice up some pound cake, do try the Sweet Yogurt-Cream.

Butter

Strawberry Shortcake with Sweet Yogurt-Cream

(adapted from The Pioneer Woman and Smitten Kitchen)

Ingredients:

BUTTERMILK BISCUITS

Makes 6 Large Biscuits

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tablespoons  sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

9 tablespoons chilled butter, cut into small chunks

3/4 cup  buttermilk

STRAWBERRIES

2 pints strawberries

1/3 cup sugar

zest and juice of 1 small orange

SWEET YOGURT CREAM

1 tub (7 ounces) plain Greek yogurt (I like the regular Fage yogurt, not nonfat)

1 cup cold heavy whipping cream

1/2 cup sugar

2 Tablespoons brown sugar

Dry Ingredients

Directions:

BISCUITS

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cover baking sheet with parchment paper or nonstick spray.

Put dry ingredients in the bowl of a food processor (or in a large mixing bowl).  Add butter and pulse until butter is cut into the flour and mixture resembles coarse cornmeal (if mixing by hand you can use a pastry cutter for this step or your fingers and rub butter into the flour – as above).

While pulsing processor (or stirring), slowly add buttermilk just until mixture barely comes together.

Turn onto counter and knead together a few times until dough holds together and is no longer crumbly.

Drop by 1/4 cup onto baking sheet, 2 inches apart.

Bake until golden brown, 12 to 15 minutes.

Big Buttermilk Biscuit

Confession: I over-mixed my biscuits.  Don’t be like me.  They were still delicious.

STRAWBERRIES

Wash, stem and slice strawberries and put in a bowl.

Add sugar, orange zest and orange juice and stir.

Let macerate for 15 to 30 minutes until juicy.

More strawberries

SWEET YOGURT-CREAM

In a large mixing bowl, combine yogurt, heavy whipping cream and sugars and whip with mixer until stiff, though it won’t be as stiff as regular whipped cream.

Strawberry Shortcake

You can split the biscuits or just pile the sliced berries on top and dollop on the cream.  Now doesn’t that look good? And, by the way, this is delicious for breakfast.

Thanks for the visit.

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking

4 responses to “Strawberry Shortcake with Sweet Yogurt-Cream

  1. Beautiful photographs …the apricots look perfect!…
    When something is that good…I agree …eat as is!…
    I like the idea of a biscuit for the shortcake…not as sweet but, buttery…

  2. oh! this looks delicious Dianne! 🙂 those strawberries look too good! thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

