Day 3: Give Me Wings

Give Me Wings

This joyful spread started with the image of the little girl.  In the magazine where I first saw her she was jumping into her dad’s arms in a swimming pool. On the very next page was the butterfly.  It wasn’t very hard to put those two pictures together in my mind and only a little more challenging making it all work on the page.

Butterfly Girl

The phrase is from a song by Ali Burns, though the full verse we sing in choir has a more bluesy quality than this picture suggests.

Lyrics Give Me Wings

I also went back to yesterday’s spread because I just wasn’t happy with it.  One of the things I like about an Art Journal is that it is pretty easy to change a spread.  You can pull something out, or paste something over.  Here is version two of Day 2:

New Day Two Spread

This includes a postcard showing Pt. Montara Light Station which is where our hostel was located.

Our Hostel

I added one seal photo, moved another, and removed two. Duarte’s Tavern is where we ate lunch in Pescadero.  We were quite hungry after our hike to see the seals and inhaled the shared burger and shared slice of blueberry pie which was served complete with a candle for Rem’s birthday. I was practically licking the plate clean before I even thought of taking a picture.

However, as it was his birthday, we had dessert (banana and Nutella crepe) with dinner (chicken, spinach, caramelized onion and Swiss cheese crepe) and I managed to capture that:

Banana Nutella Crepe

Last year’s Day 3: Icebox Cupcakes

Two year’s ago  for Day 3: Security Envelope Flower Card

I appreciate your visit and your comments.

4 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

4 responses to “Day 3: Give Me Wings

  1. love the little girl butterfly…creative for sure…I checked out you other crafty ideas from year before…l really like the stacked cookies…so easy so pretty…

  2. YAY to day number 3 Dianne! 🙂 I like the butterfly with the little girl! & the Nutella and banana crepe; one of my favourite! very good for a birthday dessert!

    • Thanks, Ingrid! I was delighted with Day #3. I’m just about to post Day #4…hope you like it. And as for Nutella? Well, give me a jar and a spoon and I’m happy!

Leave a Reply

