Day 5: Paper Moon

Paper Moon

Day 5: Paper Moon.  This is my take on a page that caught my eye on Pinterest. It is from the blog “La Chaquetita de Punto”  but I don’t know who the artist is.

I collected bits of paper with different text and numbers, the Periodic Table, some old pages from books including textbooks, music, a Scantron, a sky chart from an Astronomy book and more.  Some pieces were white so I dipped them in tea and let them dry.

Moon on Paper

During my lunch break, I collaged the background using Mat Medium .  After dinner I completed the skyline and finished with the moon.

For 2012, Day 5, I did this easy project: Tape Dispenser Before and After

In 2011, Day 5, I never got the hang of: Shrinky Dink Rings

I’m glad you checked out my blog today!

6 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

6 responses to “Day 5: Paper Moon

  1. violetannie63

    Love it! I love collaging…it’s so therapeutic! Hope it gave you some moments of peace and relaxation 🙂

    • Thanks! It is very therapeutic for me. Even thumbing through a magazine looking for images is de-stressing (not distressing). It is all craft therapy for me. And one of the reasons I decided I wouldn’t push to do one each day, but double up on some days, was so I could KEEP it low stress. Yesterday I worked on that spread in little fits and starts throughout the day. In fact, I collected the paper on Tuesday, tea-dyed pieces on Tuesday night and Wednesday morning. Collaged the background on my lunch break and colored in the skyline and moon after dinner last night. I had snipped out the date fromt he morning paper but when I did the skyline I covered it up, so I had to clip another date and add that in.
      I’ve also been going back to “finished” pages and tweaking them a bit. If there is something that I want to change I just might.

  2. loved the skyline and moon…great entry…
    Question… Are you using a book or magazine for your base book?…

    • It is a book. I’ll put in some pics of the cover so you can see it. By the way, you’ll have to wait until Friday for my Day 6. I overslept, got up with a headache and have Jazzercise after work, so not going to stay up all night doing a page. I’ll do two tomorrow.

  3. very nice Dianne! great tip on dipping the pieces of paper in tea! very nice! 🙂

    • Thanks, Ingrid. I gave some of the pieces to coats of tea and let them dry. I like the paper to have some character and some of it got a little rippled with the moisture of the tea. I used a few pieces of Velum and was using matte medium to adhere and coat over the paper and the matte medium with the velum made it really stiff and kind of warped. I don’t think I’d like it for a whole page but it was interesting in small pieces. On the left hand side you can see a piece that has the words from the page of the book that I’m using as my base showing through – look for the word “shrill”.

Leave a Reply

