Day 6: Mosaic Poppies

Mosaic Poppies

Day 6, a little late, a mosaic of poppies. Pinterest was, once again, a source of inspiration.  I found this picture and followed the link back to Donna Downey’s awesome blog “Simply Me“.  Lots of yummy stuff to go look at later.

I love these Oriental Poppies and have taken pictures of them at Filoli Gardens:

Poppy at Filoli

And also at the Italian Street Painting Festival in San Rafael:

Street Painting Poppies

I used pictures pulled from magazines and from my stash of saved images (also mostly from magazines).  The poppies have petals made from blinds, dresses, art work and lips.

Poppy Close Up

The flower centers are from a picture of lustrous dark hair and a black pen for the little details.

The green for the leaves and stems came mostly from ads that had leaves in them but also from some green jeans.

Green Leaves

Most of the color for the background “tiles” was background in ads – sky, water, or just a pretty colored  background, but I also used several paint chips, some scrap-booking paper and a great purse.  Look carefully and you can see details like stitching (that’s the purse).

Tile Detail

Page Date: 6/6/13

Somehow it is almost 8PM and I haven’t started the spread for today! Yikes.

Here is the Day 6 project from last year: Shrinky Dink Rings (Fail II)

Day 6 the year before was: Infused Oil

Thanks for stopping by.

10 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

10 responses to “Day 6: Mosaic Poppies

  1. Pingback: Day 7: Orange Makes Me Happy! | dianne faw

  2. violetannie63

    Beautiful! I love the bright colours – they really pop. 🙂

  3. details…details…how awesome…how do you have the time???…not, that I am not going to try some of your ideas…just lovely!

    • Thank you, thank you! The joke with some of my friends is that I don’t watch TV. It’s mostly true though I do watch some movies on the computer. During 30DOC I really devote lots of time to crafting and I love it. But even the reading that I usually do is falling by the wayside. I wish I could load the photos more quickly because that eats up time too. The mosaic did use more time than some, but I’m really pleased with the results.

  4. Jean

    Stunning Dianne!!! I LOVE this, it should be framed. I might try this myself.

    • Thank you, Jean! I love the creations I’ve been making in my Art Journal. I encourage you to give it a try. I find it very peaceful. Just remember to get up and stretch every so often.

  5. this is very pretty! love the colors! Poppies are beautiful and great for inspiration! 🙂

  6. Dianne, I can understand how you have enjoyed this project as I have about a dozen fileboxes full of things cut from magazines and junkmail, etc. that I’ve salvaged over the last 15 years. They are organized by color and provide many hours of creative inspiration plus the satisfaction of upcycling something that would normally just end up being recycled or worse yet, in a landfill. Many of my collages have ended up on dollar store vases, bottles, picture frames.

Leave a Reply

