Day 7: Orange Makes Me Happy!

Orange Makes Me Happy

Day 7: Orange Makes Me Happy!  After the Day 6 Mosaic Poppies (that I did today), I needed and wanted to do something FAST!

I decided to do a page on Orange.  I started at 8:17 PM.

8:17 PM

I used the first exercise from Virginia Simpson-Magruder’s workshop that I took recently.  She guided us through these steps.

I glued 3 pages together (one set of three was already glued from the previous spread).  This is to give the pages extra support for the various mediums that will be used on them.

Glue Pages

I took a Sharpie and wrote on the page about a color, in this case: O R A N G E.  I wrote: “Orange makes me HAPPY!  It’s sunny, bright, cheerful and looks great with blue.”

Than I used water soluble oil crayons and stamp pads to color the pages.

Coloring the Pages

Next I used a wet paint brush to swirl the color together and really cover the paper.  Than I used a heat tool to dry the pages.

Dry Pages

Next step is to find images for the spread.  I’ve got a collection but I also have a stack of magazines and I took a quick look through a few magazines as well as through my container of images.

Obviously Virginia gave us guidelines for collecting images.  Take her class to learn more!  And, let me add, I wasn’t completely following her guidelines here.  Remember, I was going for speedy.  But essentially, it’s a good idea to rip out the pages that catch you eye.  Start your collection now.

Tear or trim the images to suit your vision and arrange them on the page.  When you are happy with the arrangement, glue them in place.

Arrange and Glue

Add embellishments (in this case I added some washi tape) …

Orange Makes Me Happy

and any journaling you want.  I put “Orange Makes Me Happy!” inside the “O” in the “Hello”.

Hello

I added the date onto one of the mailboxes.

Mailboxes

DONE! Yay. 8:47 PM.

9:47PM

It took longer for me to download the photos and put this post together!

Here is the delicious recipe I made last year for Day 7: Lemon Custard Ice Cream

Day 7 the year before resulted in Refrigerator Word Magnets

Thanks for the visit.

3 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

3 responses to “Day 7: Orange Makes Me Happy!

  1. no one would ever know that this took so little time…you have this down pat for sure!…and always looks great!

  2. orange and yellow are colors that make me happy! very nice Dianne! 🙂 you explained very well how to do this! 🙂 I love the ‘hello’, the ‘people smiling’ and that you added the dates to the mailboxes (clever) 🙂 very, very nice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

