Day 27: Do Something Creative

Inside Front Cover

Day 27: Do Something Creative. This is my inside front cover which, in this book, is pretty much like my title page.

I was thinking about what I wanted and knew I wanted to have my name on it – in essence, this is where I’m signing my work.

signature

I looked at my desk and saw several sheets of grid paper, paper I use under my projects.  In part to cover up my work surface but also to scribble on, test a pen, try out a font, stamp ink off a rubber stamp, test a color, or put a wash of pigment down with a water soluble oil crayon and water that I can pick up with a brush and use on a page.

So these sheets of paper are both desk protector and palette.   They had all sorts of interesting swaths of color, bits of washi tape, smears and scribbles and random words.

My Art Journal

I decided that pieces of the grid paper, with their bright colors and detritus from many of the projects in the book, would be the perfect paper to use for my “title” page.

Borrowing the slogan from The Paper Source, I wrote out the quote on a scrap of paper and colored in some of the letters.

“Do Something Creative Every Day!”

Often

The exclamation mark is mine.  I also added an asterisk and the word “often” below the quote because I know that sometimes life gets in the way and it can be a real challenge to do anything EVERY day.

Inside cover, right side

I added my blog address on the right side.  The word “love” and the word “homemade” were already on the grid paper.

diannefaw.wordpress

Mod Podge was my collage medium – I just brushed it on the back of each piece of paper and some down on the surface of the page, placed the paper where I wanted it and brushed some more over it.

30DOC

I really enjoyed creating this page from paper that I normally throw away when it is either too sticky with glue or coated with paint to be effective.

For Day 27 last year, I did a spread on creativity in my Image Journal, the precursor to my current Art Journaling.

The year before I made these Photo Cards.

Thank you for your visit.

5 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

5 responses to “Day 27: Do Something Creative

  1. Susan Banie

    Dianne:
    We’re getting close to Day 30 and I’m starting to get a little nervous. Please don’t stop your daily creative projects. Your site is the first one I go to every morning and it always puts a smile on my face to see what you’ve created. Your blog is like a wonderful extension of Virginia’s workshop that we shared…with the added bonus of your remarkable joie de vivre!
    All Best,
    Susan

    • Hi, Susan – Thanks for the great response to my 30DOC project. I’m having a great time with the art journal but I don’t think I can keep up this pace. I’m neglecting a few other things in my life (like reading and getting enough sleep for example) but I will be posting…just not every day (sorry). The good news is, I’ve got lots to look at in my archives… Thanks again for such a positive comment. I sometimes wonder if anyone is noticing what I post!

  2. really LOVE this one ! so colorful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

