Day 28: collage sand gild stamp

Collage Sand Gild Stamp

Day 28: Collage Sand Gild Stamp.

I’m really pleased with this spread.  It’s late and I’m tired, but I love how it turned out.

We went to the Exploratorium today, Rem, my mom and I.  It is a huge, hands-on museum that we could not possibly absorb in one visit.

The obligatory photo opportunity at the clever Toilet Fountain:

Toilet Fountain

Black light.  Mom and I both wore black and white striped t’s.

Black Light

Tidal tubing – shows the level of the tide for every hour.

Tidal Tubes

When I saw THIS piece, I knew it would inspire my entry for today.  It is SO wonderful.  I am so sorry not to have the name of the artist.

Grid Sign

It was in the Tinkering Studio which has supplies and project you can do on the spot.  I didn’t want to spend 30 minutes there on a project, but I brought home instructions on doing paper circuits with copper tape, tiny surface mount LEDs and coin cell batteries.  Very interesting!

So, all I needed to do was make my small Art Journal version of the sign. But we still had a lot more to see at the museum.

fray

Plastic hanger chandelier.

Hanger Chandelier

Colors.

Colored Lights

Multiple Shadows.

Rem & Shadows

The Fog Bridge was lovely and cool on this hot, sunny day.

Fog Bridge

After lunch at the Ferry Building Marketplace and the ferry back to Larkspur, I ended up succumbing to a nap.

Finally, I started my journal pages. First I had to figure out the size and number of squares, then what words I would use, then I started cutting,

cut

sewing,

sew

taping

tape

and painting.

paint

And now it is done and way past time for bed.

collage knot tear

stamp paint embellish

Here is what I came up with a year ago on Day 28: Rem and I collaborated on a Video showing Marbleized Paper.

The year before that it was: Bottle Cap Necklace, another collaboration because Rem snagged the caps for me.

As always, thanks for checking out my blog!

7 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Crafts

7 responses to “Day 28: collage sand gild stamp

  1. love it…I will begin my book…I will begin my book…I’m trying to get myself started!…ha, ha!

  2. beautiful, I really love this one; it’s different and there’s sewing! 🙂 & love those pictures you took! & ha!ha! for the one with the water/toilet fountain! 🙂

  3. Love this! Found it by searching #exploratorium on twitter, and there was my Dianne! 🙂 Can’t wait to go back – we watched the Higgs Boson talk and then only had about an hour to run around and see things.

  4. Pingback: Exploratorium Selfies | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

