3-D Hand Drawing

3-D Hand Drawing

I love how this flat picture looks three dimensional.  I saw the how-to on Pinterest here.  I did it a few times before I liked it enough to add color.

Trace your hand with pencil.

Old Paw

Somehow my hand has been replaced by this odd, pinkish wrinkled old paw.  Strange.

Now take a marker and draw a straight line until you get to the pencil line.  Than draw an arc to the other pencil line and then go back to making a straight line.

Straight, Curved, Straight

I tried using a ruler but in the end it was easiest just doing it freehand.

You can go back and erase the pencil line when you’re finished with the black lines.

Topography

It kind of reminds me of topographical maps with their contour lines.

It looks effective from every angle too.

Thisaway

thataway

Felt markers add color.

I glued it into my newest Art Journal. Unfortunately, I think it loses a little of the 3-D effect going over the two pages.  But it is still cool.

3-D Hand in Art Journal

I had slicked down some gesso first and after gluing the hand picture I covered it with Mod Podge.  The water-based markers smeared some with the water-based Mod Podge.  Oops.  I tried to heat-set the color with a heat gun but it wasn’t completely effective

This new Art Journal is in an old textbook from my high school, found on the shelf at my mom’s house.

American Lit

SFDHS

Adventures in America Literature, published in 1952.

It is overdue.

1980

I don’t know how it got onto the shelf at Mom’s but it wasn’t me.  I graduated before that!

I appreciate the visit!

8 Comments

Filed under Crafts

8 responses to “3-D Hand Drawing

  1. 🙂 I really like this one, it does look 3D, I will try it! looks like fun too! 🙂

  2. Julie

    That is sooooo cool!!!

  3. Susan Banie

    Dianne:
    Absolutely love the 3-D hand! I’m definitely going to try this one. And the triangles, too. Thank you for going to all the trouble of posting step-by-step instructions and lots of pictures. I can appreciate how much time it takes but just want you to know it’s greatly appreciated.
    All Best,
    Susan

    • Susan – Thanks for the great comments. It is a lot of effort to create a post but it isn’t trouble. I love doing it! I’m so delighted you want to give these ideas a try. Both were things I saw and passed along so you are another link in a chain of creativity. I’d love to see pictures if you do give them a try.

  4. matt david

    i am gonna make this as my project at school
    i hope i will get a high grade at this art
    it looks fun!!!!
    nice art spirit you’ve got

Leave a Reply

