Chocolate Peanut Butter Frozen Yogurt

Scoop of Chocolate PB Yogurt

It turns out the reason I was feeling so draggy was because I was fighting an infection.  I had a cracked tooth that couldn’t be saved so it was pulled AND (there is a connection here) so I have to eat soft foods!

It hasn’t exactly been a fun week.  I’m not sleeping well.  I have what feels like a huge hole in my mouth.  But everyone has been kind and caring and done their very best to take good care of me.  I am really a huge dental coward and have had a few negative experiences at the dentist in the past.  Some of my teeth are just bad.  Like – they probably shop-lift and litter and I’m sure some of them smoke out behind the bleachers.

It took a real effort on my part to take myself to the office of the endodontist for a consult.  And to learn I would not be having a retreat of a root canal (that my own dentist had termed “really difficult, I wouldn’t touch it”) but instead would need to have the problem tooth extracted was both a relief and something else to be anxious about.  However, I was sent to an oral surgeon right away that afternoon.  I picked up Rem on the way for support and to drive home after, the deed was done in fairly short order, and I was asleep for the procedure.  That helped a LOT!

Anyway, the silver lining is that eating ice cream is expected and even encouraged after such an experience.  And this recipe uses Greek Yogurt and peanut butter so it is full of protein. So the day after the procedure, Rem went to the store to pick up the ingredients, and we made it together.

I found this recipe at Tasty Kitchen then followed the link back to Alaska From Scratch who adapted it from Martha Stewart.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Frozen Yogurt

Barely Adapted from Alaska From Scratch

Ingredients:

14 oz. sweetened, condensed milk

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

1 tablespoon vanilla

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 cups plain Greek  yogurt (I love Fage brand, and used the 2%)

1 cup milk (ours is 2%)

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
Directions:
In a large bowl, using an electric mixer (or in the bowl of a stand mixer) beat together the sweetened, condensed milk, peanut butter, vanilla and salt until smooth.
In a smaller bowl, whisk together the yogurt, milk and cocoa powder until well combined.   (I confess, I didn’t try this but my cocoa went in and made a bunch of lumps, so I ended up putting the mixture through a sieve – I hope this will save that step).
With mixer on low, add the cocoa mixture to the peanut butter mixture until combined.
Scrape the mixture into the bowl of your ice cream maker and process until frozen, about 20 minutes.
Out of the Ice Cream Maker
When it comes out of the ice cream maker, it will be a lovely soft-serve kind of soft.  On a warm evening, it will melt quickly.
Two Melty Dishes
It is also very dense and rich.  I might try this recipe without the cocoa powder.  I’ll let you know if I do.
It freezes up fairly hard so allow a few minutes to soften before scooping.
Scoop, Spoon, Go
Thanks for checking out this recipe.

8 Comments

Filed under Cooking

8 responses to “Chocolate Peanut Butter Frozen Yogurt

  1. Oh that sounds so yummy! I can’t wait for Summer to start making ice cream again (not that Winter stops me from doing that, to be honest!). Poor you with teeth problems – they are the worst. Hope you heal up quickly and are soon back to solid foods (even though having to eat icecream all the time is no hardship). Get well soon x

    • Thanks. Rem called me “Cheeky Monkey” this morning when he saw my empty dish before breakfast. But I needed a photo for the post, and once it was scooped, well, no reason to put it back! Funny though I have plenty of good choices in addition to this frozen yogurt, for example: mashed sweet potato, lentils, cottage cheese, chunks of nectarine – the things I’m craving are crunchy salads and crackers! I’m much better than yesterday. Just wish I wasn’t starting the semester right now. This too shall pass.

  2. had to have my first tooth pulled…about a year ago…hated it!…big hole as you say…but, no saving it…best to you …and enjoy the ice cream…sounds wonderful!

    • Mouth is feeling better every day and my stamina is increasing. It is the start of a new semester on Monday so last few days at work are the hectic ones with faculty returning, convocation, department meetings, etc. I’m very glad we have a weekend before a very busy week so I can rest up. Just had another dish of the frozen yogurt – we’re almost done with the batch.

      • have a good week back at work…sounds like a busy time…I tend to forget about my tooth missing…except when I brush and stick my tongue up there!

      • Mine is still a bit tender and it is weird to chew on that side. I’ll probably get a bridge to fill the gap. We’ll see what happens when I go in for a chat with my dentist in a few weeks.

        It is a busy time but the days do go by quickly. Glad I’ve had some rest over this weekend.

  3. sorry to hear that you needed for your tooth to be pulled out Dianne, I know how painful it could be and glad you were asleep for this procedure (I am visiting mine tomorrow, it still hurts)
    this chocolate frozen yogurt looks amazing from your pictures! hope you feel better now! 🙂

    • Thanks, I’m feeling much better. The oral surgeon saw me yesterday for a follow-up and said it was looking great, healing well. I guess if I have more ice cream I can’t use that as an excuse. Good luck with your visit!

Leave a Reply

