Latest Art Journal Pages

Sound Bite

I was so glad to have the day off today.  A tenacious summer cold has sapped my energy and I needed a down day.

After lunch I spent about 20 minutes cleaning off (most of) my craft desk so I could sit down with my Art Journal.  Actually, first I paged through a pile of magazines ripping out headlines and words in large fonts.  I tore and layered the bits of paper so that most of the words were unreadable.  I named this creation “Sound Bite”.

I don’t have a television and when I do occasionally spend some time watching TV, it feels kind of how this page looks.  I’m overwhelmed by all the words and noise and information that changes so rapidly.  The camera moves quickly and snippets of information flash by.

For the other pair of pages, I first painted a sheet of watercolor paper in big swaths of color, tipping the paper every which way to drip the paints through each other.  I also used watercolor crayons on the wet paper.

Dripped Paint

After the paint dried, I added some rubber-stamped patterns.

Paint + Stamping

Crackles

Next I cut this page into pieces.

Cut Up

Finally, I rearranged the pieces and glued them into my journal.

Patchwork

There’s something about this that makes me think of tornadoes and storm clouds, albeit more colorful than what you might see in nature.  I’m going to call this “Patchwork Color Storm.”

I hope your weekend was just what you needed.  Thanks for the visit.

5 Comments

Filed under Crafts

5 responses to “Latest Art Journal Pages

  1. Both pieces would translate so well into embroidery too- super pages and hope you feel better soon.

    • Thanks – I can imagine the patchwork page being recreated in fabric but embroidery would be very time consuming. I’m more of an immediate gratification type. I love to look at embroidery but it was never my thing.

  2. Unexpected…when you got to the part… “I then cut this page into pieces!”…
    a twist that makes your pages stand out!…neat!

  3. I hope you are doing better now Dianne! 🙂
    glad you cleaned up your craft space to continue working on your art journal! it looks very nice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

