Head to Tail Halloween

Peacock Mask

Here is the mask I made to wear on Halloween.  I saw this mask from Sprinkles in Spring on Pinterest last year and loved it.  I wanted to figure out a costume that would incorporate a similar mask.  I ended up veering a little off the original concept.  I also need to wear my glasses, so the mask will attach to them.

I also saw several great costumes on Pinterest that inspired me to create my costume for this year: a peacock!  (sorry, I’m not going to show the whole costume until I wear it on Halloween).

Fairy Wings to Feathers

I disassembled the fairy wings I picked up at the Dollar Tree and my mom and sister helped cut out and glue fabric for the “eyes” and tulle for the wire to complete the feathers.  The fairy wings were already decorated with glitter which ended up everywhere.

My mom was nice enough to let me work on the tail at her house where I had loads more room.

Fabric Peacock Feathers

My last name, Faw, was originally spelled Pfau and was changed when my great (x 8, I think) grandfather immigrated to the US from Switzerland.  Pfau means peacock!

The stylized peacock I had in mind needed some additional bling to balance the fancy tail, so I also crafted some jewelry and additional embellishments.  Beads and Christmas garland from the Dollar Tree, plastic gems, fabric, elastic, ribbon and plenty of hot glue were used.

Jewelry for Peacock

After many hours of effort, the costume is done and I will be wearing it to work on Thursday.

Thank you for your visit.

7 Comments

Filed under Crafts

7 responses to “Head to Tail Halloween

  1. Becky Reetz

    Oh boy! I can’t wait to see you on Halloween!!

    Becky Reetz
    EOPS/CARE & CalWORKs Coordinator
    College of Marin
    415-485-9633

    ~Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.
    ~W.B.Yeats

  2. Liz Freemantle

    That looks so beautiful — amazing colors! Can’t wait to see it on you (well, pictures of . .. )

  3. awesome…YES!…please…we need a photo of you in it!

  4. 🙂 very nice Dianne, I can’t wait to see your costume! 🙂 I’m sure it will look great!

  5. Hi! I’m the person that made the dollar store peacock feathers tutorial for Dollar Store Crafts! I’m so excited to see that someone used the idea! 🙂
    ~~Starr

Leave a Reply

