Fine Feathered Finale

Here is my Peacock Costume for Halloween 2013!

Full Costume, tail down

I made the fancy feathered tail and all the other accessories; from the crest on my head to the embellishments on my sandals, and all the jewelry in between.

Head Shot, mask up, tail up

I had planned to attach the mask to my glasses but at the last minute it wasn’t working.  I had Rem plug in the glue gun, and with some wire, a chopstick and a few plastic baubles, I converted it into a kind of lorgnette.  It was much easier than wearing an annoying mask all day and it went well with all the other details.

I wore turquoise and green eye-makeup with some sparkles, black liner and lots of mascara.

Eyes

Here’s the decoration on my sandals (and my turquoise nail polish).

Fancy Sandals

The best part of the costume was the tail that I could move from down to up with the help of some mono filament. Here’s a link to a little video showing me moving the tail.  Thank you to Grace at UniquelyGrace on Etsy where I purchased the design for the tail.

This is the tail in the resting/down position.  The sides were supposed to fold down but the wire feathers I made were kind stiff so it remained fanned out both up and down.

Tail from the Back

Here it is with the tail up.

Tail & Mask Up

I even managed the tail when I was at my desk.  The trick was to sit down with the tail up, and the back of the chair kept it in place.

At the computer

A few of the biology instructors on campus reminded me that peacocks are male.  I just told them I was a cross-dressing peahen.  However, at the end of a day of strutting my feathers, I think maybe the peahens are happy not to be dragging around all that fancy baggage.

For today it was a lot of fun and I was delighted to win best costume in the “Elegant” category at the Halloween lunch and costume contest  at work.

Thank you for coming by and Happy Halloween!

10 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Life

10 responses to “Fine Feathered Finale

  1. violetannie63

    Very impressive! 🙂

  2. Becky Reetz

    So lovely!!

    Becky Reetz
    EOPS/CARE & CalWORKs Coordinator
    College of Marin
    415-485-9633

    ~Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.
    ~W.B.Yeats

  3. how neat that the tail goes up and down…very creative…and of course some of my favorite colors…

  4. I love the photo of you in your office chair! 🙂

  5. oh! how nice, this is a very good Halloween costume Dianne 🙂 love the tail very much 🙂

  6. Pingback: An Art Journaling Afternoon | dianne faw

  7. Pingback: Black & White | dianne faw

  8. Pingback: Day 16: 30 Day Journal Project | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

