Autumn Leaves Art Journal

Fall Colors Mixed Media

With supper in the slow cooker, I wanted to spend some time with my art journal but wasn’t sure what to do.  I’ve still got a trip to the library to fit in this afternoon, so I decided on a page that wouldn’t take too long.

Using a dark walnut brown ink, I stamped a maple leaf on the page and then heat-set the ink. I colored each leaf using a combination of Portfolio oil pastel crayons, densely pigmented Neocolor crayons and Stampin’ Up! colored markers.  With some of them, I first dipped the crayon in water and other times I brushed the scribbles with a small, wet paint brush.  After this step, I again used the heat tool to dry the page.

I went back with colored markers to fill in any little uncolored pieces.  Although I forgot to include it in the photo, I used my air-spritzer tool with markers to add a fine spray of dots on a few of the leaves.

Stamped Leaf

Maybe when I get back from the library, I’ll have time for another page…

Autumn Leaves

Thanks for checking out this one.

4 Comments

Filed under Art Journal Pages

4 responses to “Autumn Leaves Art Journal

  1. michelle barrett

    Dianne, love your pages, beautiful fall leaves.

  2. it’s beautiful, I really love the leaves and the color of them 🙂

Leave a Reply

