Leek Fritters

Leek Fritters with Menorah

After a big Thanksgiving dinner on Thursday with family where I only provided cranberry sauce and Brussels sprouts, I stuffed and roasted a turkey on Friday so Rem and I could enjoy “leftovers”.  It’s been a quiet, relaxing weekend with plenty of time for crafting, a walk with my sister, lunch with my mom, reading and yes, lots of good eating!

Today I fixed a big bowl of Emerald City Salad which I will enjoy throughout the week for lunch and tonight, for the fifth night of Hanukkah, I made Leek Fritters from the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook, by Deb Perelman.  I confess that on the first night of Hanukkah we had frozen latkes from Trader Joe’s and I wanted to do something homemade.

These came together fairly easily, were beautiful and delicious and went well with the toasted turkey and Swiss cheese sandwiches with cranberry sauce that we also enjoyed for dinner.

Slicing Leeks

I was going to make them a week or two ago but when I read the recipe more closely, I decided I needed a little more time and planning.  It’s not that they’re really difficult, but there was one step I hadn’t anticipated.  After cutting the leeks, you drop them in to boiling water to soften, then drain, wring out in a towel and proceed.

Boiling Leeks

Here’s the recipe:

Leek Fritters with Lemon Sour Cream

Adapted from the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook

Ingredients:

For Fritters:

2 lbs. leeks (about 3 very large ones)

2 green onions

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

black pepper

1 large egg

olive or vegetable oil, or nonstick spray for frying* see note, below

For Lemon Sour Cream:

1/2 cup sour cream

Few gratings of fresh lemon zest

1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon of garlic salt

* Note about frying: I find frying trickier on our electric stove than on a gas burner.  Next time I make them, I’ll probably use nonstick spray with a nonstick pan.
Cooking Leek Fritters
Directions:

Put a pot of salted water on to boil.  Trim the leeks, leaving only the white and pale green parts.  Cut then on half lengthwise and rinse with cold water to remove any dirt and grit.  Slice the leeks crosswise into 1/4 inch pieces.  Drop the cut up leeks into the boiling water, and cook for 3 or 4 minutes, then drain, rinse with cool water for a few moments and wring out in a dish towel or piece of cheesecloth.

Put the leeks into a large bowl.  Cut the green onions in half lengthwise and slice thinly.  Add the green onions to bowl with leeks.

In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, salt and pepper and then stir into large bowl with leeks.  Add egg and combine, stirring until the mixture is evenly coated.

Preheat oven to 250 and place a baking sheet covered in foil inside.  Put a few layers of paper towel on a plate.  In a large, heavy pan, heat 2 tablespoons oil on medium to medium high heat until it shimmers.  Drop leek mixture into pan, about 1/4 cup per fritter, and flatten slightly with a spatula.  Don’t crowd the pan.  Cook until golden brown, about 3 minutes, and flip, cooking the other side until golden brown.

Remove to paper towel covered plate to drain and the transfer to warm oven while you cook the remaining leek mixture.

Stir lemon zest, lemon juice and garlic salt into sour cream.

Serve fritters with a dollop of sour cream.

Fritters with Lemon Sour Cream

Thanks for the visit.

You can refrigerate or freeze leftovers and heat them in a 325 degree oven until hot and crisp.

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking

3 responses to “Leek Fritters

  1. never heard of leek fritters and to say I’ve actually eaten a leek…I don’t thinik so…
    Always thought it was bigger green onion… you can laugh now!…so what does it taste like???
    looked really good!
    We didn’t have leftovers either since went to my youngest son’s house for dinner…so I too will be baking at least a turkey breast and adding a few trimmings!

    • I’m not gonna laugh at you! I was just talking with someone today that I’m not sure if I’d ever tasted rutabega. But on reflection, I think I had them in a dish at a cooking class.

      Leeks have a fairly mild onion flavor, especially as in this recipe, they’re blanched before making the fritters. I was a little frustrated cooking them on the electric burner. I think I’d be happier over a gas burner with a good, heavy cast iron skillet! I want to branch out and try some other type of fritters, because it’s a pretty simple recipe, a little flour, some baking powder, an egg and some seasoning. Smitten Kitchen also has a recipe for Broccoli-Parmesan Fritters and those sound good too!

Leave a Reply

