Slow Cooker Curried Chicken

Curried Chicken over Rice

Christmas is coming and I’m not at all ready for it.  One thing I am doing is buying the ingredients to put together some fairly easy, delicious slow cooker meals.  Last week it was short ribs with red wine served over polenta.  That will have to wait for another time so I can take a few pictures before I post the recipe.

Today I was grateful that Rem took on the task of getting this dinner going in the slow cooker while I was at work, though I only have a few pictures.

The recipe makes plenty so we’ll have leftovers for a few nights.  Less time cooking means more time crafting…or shopping, or decorating the tree, wrapping presents, writing cards or however you’re spending your time this busy season.

Slow-Cooker Curried Chicken

Adapted from Weight Watchers

Ingredients:

13.5 oz can of coconut milk

2 Tbsp. red curry paste, divided

1 tsp. salt

2 large or 3 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks

4 carrots, peeled and cut in 1/2 inch thick slices

1 15 oz. can garbanzo beans drained and rinsed

2 to 2.5 lbs boneless, skinless chicken thighs, chicken breasts or a combination (I used 1 package of each and had about 2.5 lbs.)

1/4 cup peanut butter

1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro

3 green onions, sliced

Cooked rice and lime wedges for serving

Directions:

In slow cooker, combine the coconut milk, 1 Tbsp. of curry paste and the salt.  Add sweet potatoes, carrots and garbanzo beans, stir to coat.

Rub remaining tablespoon of curry paste on chicken pieces.  Put the chicken pieces on top of the vegetables.  Cover and cook on LOW setting for 5 to 6 hours, and chicken and vegetables are cooked through and tender.

Move chicken to plate or cutting board and pull apart with two forks.

Stir peanut butter into curry in slow cooker. Return shredded chicken to slow cooker and stir into sauce.

Serve curry over cooked rice and garnish with chopped cilantro, sliced green onions and lime wedges.

I used up the cilantro in another recipe, so we didn’t have it tonight.

When I got home from work, the apartment smelled wonderful.  All I needed to do was pull the chicken apart with forks, stir in the peanut butter and cut up the garnish.  This is what it looked like before I shredded the chicken.

Curried Chicken in the Pot

I dished up a serving over Trader Joe’s frozen, microwavable jasmine rice, and took a picture of the bowl on the dining table.

Curried Chicken over Rice

But we actually ate on the bed because this is what the table and desk really look like:

Curry and craft projects

I’m working on two different Christmas gift craft projects and I’ve made quite a mess.

I’d better get back to my crafting.  Thanks for stopping by.

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking

2 responses to “Slow Cooker Curried Chicken

  1. My kitchen table is my favorite crafting place…so if supper is ready …push off a place or go watch TV and eat in the living room…

    • Hi, Mariln – I was just looking at this recipe again and read your comment again. SO true. ONLY thing is: this IS our living room. No dining room or breakfast room or alcove. No space for a table in our tiny kitchen. But we manage! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

