Tag Tree Christmas Cards

Christmas Tree Card

I made a little batch of Christmas cards this morning, and I like how they turned out.

First I sketched a simple Christmas tree shape on a shipping tag and cut it out.

Shipping Tag and Tree Tag

I saved the tree shape to use as a template.  I covered other tags in a collage of bits of paper, postage stamps, paint swatches and washi tape, using a penciled rough outline of the tree shape as a guide.

Collaged Tags before trimming

Next I used the original tree-shaped tag and traced it on the back of each of these tags and cut them out.

Trace tree shape

Trimming Tree Shape

I made some tiny tags to add to my Christmas trees.  I have a rubber stamp with a tag shape  but you could also draw it.

These are stamped onto a dictionary page that I’d glued to a scrap of card stock for sturdiness.

Making Mini Tags

After stamping the tag shape, I stamped a heart on each one, then cut out all the little tags and punched a little hole in each one.

Tiny Tags

Using foam dots, I adhered the tiny tags to the larger, tree-shaped tags and added a bit of baker’s twine.  I mounted the trees onto folded red cards with more foam dots.

Here’s a few of the finished card fronts.

6 Tag Trees

5 cent tag

I still need to stamp a greeting inside each card, but I’m pleased with my progress.

I worked on a few other creative endeavors this weekend but both of those project are gifts, so I’m not ready to share them here. Yet.

Thanks for visiting.

7 Comments

Filed under Crafts

7 responses to “Tag Tree Christmas Cards

  1. violetannie63

    Ooh, I love these. I’m going to steal this idea (with your permission!) for my work-place Christmas cards. I’ve done similar ones using other shapes (butterfly cards etc) but I think it works really nicely on a Christmas tree shape. Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Haircuts and Brown Paper | The Paper Wallflower

  3. Pingback: Sydney and Surprises | The Paper Wallflower

Leave a Reply

