Three Years of Blogging

As my third anniversary of blogging approached, I’ve been having a nostalgic meander through old posts.  I’m very pleased to report that I’m still happy with what I’ve published.

This blog, which I started after a big nudge from my friend Carson, continues to be both a creative and emotional outlet for me.  It is a way to share not only recipes for food and crafts but to write about the things that make me feel.

Happy Me

One of the things I feel when I write and post here is connected.  Sure, I’d love it if I got more comments, especially from some of you folks far away from California. Aside to Sam: thanks for all the great support from Australia: you’re certainly holding up your end of things, and a shout-out to one of my newest subscribers who is from Trinidad and Tobago.  But I don’t need to hear from all of you.  I can look at my stats to see where my readers are.

When I write, I have friends in mind and some readers that, though we’ve never met, I feel I’ve gotten to know from their own blogs and from their comments. So I feel connected to you when I hit send.  I’m just thrilled more than I can say that YOU, my readers, are all over the world! This year I had visitors from 165 countries!

Box of Dolls

The most comments I received in the past year were for my post about the delicious Chocolate Nutella Fudge and Truffles.  Have you tried this recipe out yet?

Scooping Truffle

Sometimes I feel frustrated that something didn’t work as planned.  Or annoyed at myself for creating big messes and not cleaning up after myself so that when I want to craft I have no place to do it.

Oops

I’ve shared some of the failures and some of the creative detritus.  There are other posts that never made it to publication.

For example, I went without shampooing my hair for 9 months.  A post was planned.  I kept thinking about pros and cons of the “No ‘Poo” method I was using (baking soda to wash, apple cider vinegar to condition).  I did wash my hair, I just didn’t use shampoo to do it.  Sometimes I loved how my hair looked.  Other times I didn’t.  I gave it up, returned to shampoo (although I don’t use the same bargain brand I’d been using) and never wrote about the experience.

I tried so called “Two Ingredient Muffins” which are a combination of a box of cake mix and a can of pumpkin.  Have you seen how many ingredients there are in a box of cake mix?  I thought I would make a quick “from scratch” pumpkin muffin to compare and contrast, but didn’t get around to that either.  I can’t say that I recommend the Two Ingredient Muffins.  But here’s a picture and by all means, give them a try if you want.

Cake Mix & Can O' Pumpkin

Oh, yeah.  I thought if you started with cake mix, let’s just be honest and call them cupcakes  So I piped some buttercream on top.  I still don’t think they were very good.

Another recipe that hasn’t made it to print on this site is for Kale Chips.  I’ve made them twice but haven’t achieved what I’m seeking.  It may still work out some day, but I don’t whip them up every weekend.

There are crafts that I’ve made when I haven’t taken the time to get photos (or it was night, and with lousy lighting I got lousy pictures) or crafts that I have taken pictures of but haven’t written a post…yet.  Did I ever tell you how to make a needle felted heart pin?   I don’t think so.  Maybe this year.

This has been a place where I could write about feeling sad and helpless and heartbroken when my dad was diagnosed with cancer and after fighting for a year, when he died.

Mom and Dad's hands

Twenty months later, seeing this picture of his and my moms hands clasped together is still enough to bring tears to my eyes and an ache in my chest.  I’m grateful for the love and support that I’ve received from you, through this channel.

I published 122 posts in 2013 for a grand total, over the three years, of 350 with this very post. In 2013 I had 89,000 views.  To put that another way, I had the equivalent to four days of visitors to the Louvre Museum in Paris, one of the world’s largest museums, view MY blog.  How cool is that?

Although I started my Art Journal before 2013, I did my first blog post about Art Journaling in the past year.  It has been and continues to be a wonderful and creative outlet for me.

Art Journal page of Hearts

In fact, after two years of doing 30 Days of Creativity (30DOC) for the month of June (something creative every day for the month), and deciding I wouldn’t do it again (to save my sanity),  I changed my mind from skipping it entirely to doing 30 Art Journal entries in the month and posting every few days.

I shared what I ate for a week.  What I ate for a week when I was eating MUCH better than I am these days, thank you very much.

What I ate

Sigh.  I need to be eating like that again.

In the meantime, I’m thinking of Valentine cards I’ll be making and sharing with you. I decided to join a Handmade Valentine Swap at Pine & Plum.  Remember that friend who urged me to blog?  Check out her blog and maybe even join her Valentine Swap.

love

I’d like to do a few Valentine clothespin dolls.  Maybe I’ll make another needle felted heart pin and blog about it!

Thank you all.  I’m having a grand time.

24 Comments

Filed under 30DOC, Art Journal Pages, Cooking, Crafts, Life

24 responses to “Three Years of Blogging

  1. Even though I don’t comment as much as I would like to, please know that when you hit publish I am always eager on the receiving end! I love your blog and am always so inspired to see what’s coming in your next post.

  2. michelle barrett

    I love your blog post Dianne, I don’t know how you find the time to do all that you do. I did have to laugh about your comment with regard to not cleaning up and then no where to be creative. I’ve done that so many times. Just ask Kathleen about what a hoarder I am now of every little scrap. I might need it someday.Seeing the photo just now of your parents hands made my heart ache and cry too. Congratulations on your anniversary.xo

    • Thanks, Michelle – I’m so glad we crafted over at my mom’s so I could see your Art Journaling (you were working on the birthday project for Lydia). You should see when I’m working on something (like Valentines these days) and my desk is piled with all the supplies I might want and then some. Pretty soon I’m trying to work in a 6 inch space that is sticky with glue. Sigh. 🙂

  3. violetannie63

    Happy 3rd Anniversary to you! I always look forward to your posts and get inspired every time. Here’s to another three years (at least!) of wonderful blogging x

  4. Calling you from England- your Art Journals have inspired me- a post on what I did as a consequence will happen this month I hope, with a link back to you!! Congratulations, its always wonderful to hear from California- we will return one day!

    • Wonderful to see your comment this morning, thanks. How nice to see I’ve inspired you (and others). What more could I ask for (ok, maybe a spare bedroom for crafting?) I look forward to that link.

  5. HPK

    Happy Anniversary and congratulations on a successful blog. You have so much more than an informational blog; you put your heart and soul out there also!

  6. I’ve enjoyed alll of your blogs… still trying to find time to do the art journal…just love that!…and your great photos… You have it going!
    3 years for me too!

  7. Tracy

    Congratulations on your anniversary! Your commitment, your creativity and your openness enrich us all.

  8. Becky Reetz

    I love your blog Faw Faw! Keep up the good work!

    Becky Reetz
    EOPS/CARE & CalWORKs Coordinator
    College of Marin
    415-485-9633

    ~Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.
    ~W.B.Yeats

  9. Monica Rudolph

    Terrific achievement, Lady Fawfaw. I am really impressed by your whole “oevre.” Blogging is a big job and you’ve done such a beautiful, truth-filled, and inspiring job of it.

  10. Laura Cooper

    That was lovely. Your photo of clasped hands brought tears to my eyes. Thanks Dianne!

  11. Pingback: Pumpkin Muffins | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

