Pumpkin Muffins

Pumpkin Muffin

Ever since I wrote my 3rd Anniversary blog post the other night and mentioned how I didn’t write about making 2 Ingredient Pumpkin Muffins, I’ve been thinking about pumpkin muffins.  I’m so suggestible!

Sitting in bed this morning with my laptop, I browsed the Smitten Kitchen site and sure enough, she has a recipe for Pumpkin Muffins.  In my minds eye, I could picture the can of solid-pack pumpkin I was fairly certain we bought the other day and I was ready to bake.  But when I checked (I asked Rem, because he is planning to make pie one of these days) I learned it was pumpkin pie filling.  Drat!

Luckily, I’ve had a perfectly good Delicata Squash on the counter for some weeks and I knew it would be just fine in place of the pumpkin puree.  In fact, Deb Perelman at Smitten Kitchen suggests making the muffins with cooked sweet potato, another good option but I didn’t have any sweet potato.

I poked some holes in the squash with the tip of a knife and microwaved it for 10 minutes while I gathered the other ingredients. When it was cooked, I cut it in half, scooped out the seeds and then scooped out the cooked flesh.  The recipes calls for 1 to 1 1/3 cups of pumpkin and I had a generous cup.

Ingredients Pumpkin Muffins

No, it is not Two Ingredient Muffins.  It is so much better than that.

Pumpkin (or Delicata Squash or Sweet Potato) Muffins (makes 12 average-size muffins)
Barely adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Muffin Papers

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole what flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon fresh nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ginger

pinch of ground cloves

pinch of allspice

(or use 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice)

1 to 1 1/3 cup canned solid-pack pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)  or same amount of cooked and mashed Delicata or Butternut squash or sweet potato – mine were made with 1 generous cup of cooked, mashed Delicata squash

1/3 cup vegetable or another neutral cooking oil (I used what I have which is olive oil and the muffins were delicious)

2 large eggs

1 cup granulated sugar

Topping:

1 tablespoon granulated sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Put cupcake papers in 12 standard-sized muffin cups.

In a medium bowl, stir together flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices.

In a larger bowl, whisk together pumpkin (or squash or sweet potato), oil, eggs and sugar. Add dry ingredients to wet and stir until just combined.

Fill muffin cups each about 3/4 full.

Muffin Batter

Stir together sugar and cinnamon for topping and sprinkle over each muffin.

Sprinkling Sugar & Cinnamon

Bake until puffed and golden brown and wooden pick inserted into a muffin comes out free of batter, 25 to 30 minutes.

Cool in pan on a rack five minutes, then transfer muffins from pan to rack and cool to warm or room temperature.

Muffins on a rack

The sugar and cinnamon topping makes a nice little crunch when you bite into a fresh, warm muffin.

Fresh Pumpkin Muffins

They’re very good plain and delicious with butter.

Muffin in halves

Rem and I each ate two.

Muffin Papers

Thank you for your visit.

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking

4 responses to “Pumpkin Muffins

  1. violetannie63

    Yum! They look delicious! If I could have pumpkin, I’d be making these…(probably tonight ha ha!) 🙂

    • They’re pretty good. I’ve been in the mood to make cozy winter food, like these muffins, for example, and some minestrone soup. But our weather is not very wintery. Today it was sunny and 68 (20 celsius) which is lovely but not what I’m in the mood for. So – I just make what I feel like making in spite of it.. Can you eat sweet potato? On the Smitten Kitchen site I saw a comment from another reader who said she used this same recipe but had subbed in different vegetable or fruits, grated up – for example zucchini, beet or apple.

  2. My aunt used to make the best pumpkin muffins… I’m sure she used canned pumpkin…but, these sound great!
    I love baking and making soups/stews when it’s cold…but, warmer weather just doesn’t have the same appeal!

  3. Pingback: Minestrone: A Pot of Comfort | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

