New Valentine’s Day Cards

A dozen hearts

I was busy at my craft desk this weekend making a bunch of Valentine’s. I really love making Valentine’s and, like last year, I’m not just doing one design over and over.

On Pinterest (of course), I saw some cute card that I wanted to CASE (Copy and Selectively Edit or Copy and Steal Everything or the PC variation Copy and Share Everything).

Before I started my first card, I punched a slew of 1.25 inch squares of paper and hearts with all three sizes of heart punches I have.  Most of the cards bases are 140 lb. cold press water color paper that I bought in a pad of 9 x 12 sheets.  So I cut a batch of cards at a time, trimming each sheet to 8.5 x 11 before cutting it in half and scoring it for finished cards that measure 4.25 x 5.5.

diagonal blocks

This card was inspired by this one.  My square punch is larger and I don’t have the beautiful “LOVE” stamp, but I’m happy with it.

Here is another variation on that idea.

Landscape Diagonal Squares

Here is a simple patchwork of squares.

Patchwork Valentine

This is another pretty card using squares and hearts.  I loved how the little scalloped squares look and treated myself to a scalloped square punch.

6 Scalloped Squares & Hearts

These bird cards were inspired by Button Bird Art from Button Bird Designs.

Purty Burdy

I’ve made multiples of each card.  Not enough that I’m tired of each design and with variations in the paper, embellishments and greetings, they’re all unique.  I especially like these birds, so I made a whole flock.

Flock of Paper Birdies

Turquoise Heart Bird

Sunshine Heart Bird

I have lots of beautiful paper.  This card shows off a piece of it.

Turned Back Corner

I think I’ll try a variation with a little heart under that turned-up corner.

Some cute stamps of vintage items are featured on these cards.

Typewriter Love

Typewriter Card

gramaphone

Full of Love

jar of hugs and kisses

Loads of Love

I also love these two bicycle cards but I don’t have a bicycle stamp.  Yet.

I’m really happy with the color scheme I’m using this year: red, black, white and turquoise.  I’m using silver ink and silver embossing powder with a heat gun for some of the greetings.  It’s a nice, finishing touch.

dotted ribbon scalloped squares

After creating the are for the front of the card, I always stamp and sign the back and stamp a greeting inside the card too.

Made with love

Side note: I made it through my dental appointment today and though I feel pretty tired and a bit tender, I’m not too sore.  I’ll enjoy my busy weekend with friends all the more now that is behind me!

Love & hugs

It is very satisfying seeing the finished cards all crowded together.

Lots o' Cards

I’m off to a great start for my Valentine Production of 2014!

Thank you for your visit.

5 Comments

Filed under Crafts

5 responses to “New Valentine’s Day Cards

  1. Unconditionally beautiful!!

  2. ALL are wonderful!…just beautiful!…You should be proud!…
    the birds are wonderful…then came the jars…they are the cutest!

  3. violetannie63

    Love them all 🙂 Especially the birdy ones and the typewriter…oh and the jar ones! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Fourth Anniversary Blog Post! | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

